MINNEAPOLIS —Lafe Aarsvold, a student at Plainview Elgin Millville High School, has been elected as president of the Minnesota FAA for the next year.

The newly elected state officer team includes three others from southern Minnesota — Nicholas Potthoff of Martin County West as vice president, Elaine Dorn of Randolph as secretary and Madilyn Smith of Fillmore Central as treasurer. The other state officers include Britton Fuglseth of Fertile-Beltrami as reporter and Savannah Aanerud of Morris Area as sentinel.

The officers were elected at the end of the 90th annual state FFA convention held April 28-30 on the campus of the University of Minnesota. About 4,000 members attended.

In other results:

Proficiency Awards

FFA Proficiency Awards, which highlight students’ Supervised Agricultural Experiences, were announced during the second general session. Proficiency Award winners from southern Minnesota were: Rebeckah Schroeder, Caledonia, dairy production placement; Ellie Lindow, Lake City, environmental science and natural resources management; Payton Guenther, Chatfield, goat production; Amanda Kelling, Pine Island, small animal production and care; Creighton Sauer, Lewiston-Altura, swine production entrepreneurship.

Hall of Fame

The Minnesota FFA Alumni Association recognized nine inductees. One of the inductees was Fred Troendle of St. Charles, who worked as an ag instructor after being a state FFA officer in 1983 and 1984. As an FFA member, Troendle served as the chapter president before moving on to be Region 8 vice president.

Honorary State FFA Degrees

Twenty-one outstanding teachers and business professionals who’ve demonstrated success and support of FFA and agricultural education received Honorary State FFA Degrees. Among them are Stacy Fritz, Chatfield FFA adviser, and Dan Hoffman, interim director of Ag & Food Science at Riverland Community College.

National Chapter Award

Eden Valley-Watkins FFA knocked off last year’s winner, Chatfield, to win the state’s National Chapter Award. FFA chapters apply for the honor by highlighting activities in the categories of student development, chapter development and community development. Chatfield and Plainview-Elgin-Millville were recognized as contenders for the title.

What's your reaction?


Print ads