Families are invited to pick up free take-home activity kits connected to the “We are Water MN” exhibit at the Rochester Art Center.

The center and city of Rochester are offering the kits, which include five activities that invite users to explore their relationship with water and learn about water resources.

The activity kits are available for pickup in-person at the Rochester Public Library and the Rochester Art Center while supplies last. To reserve your kit, go to www.wearewaterrochestermn.com/activitykit

The kits were designed with families in mind and to provide fun for children, teens and adults, and families with children ages 5 and older. The activities align with concepts visitors can explore through the traveling exhibit on display at the Rochester Art Center through May 9.

Rochester Public Works, Rochester Art Center, Olmsted County Parks, and Eagle Bluff Environmental Learning Center created the activities and volunteers from the Youth Commission and Master Naturalists put together the 400 kits to be distributed.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

Visitors to the We Are Water MN exhibit learn about water issues statewide and in the community. They also reflect on local stories and the meaning and experiences of water in Minnesota with space to add their own stories. In addition to the main exhibit, there are two companion exhibits.

One exhibit will be on display at 125 Live and focuses on local groundwater and drinking water issues. Another exhibit looks at the history of water use in our region and is on display at the History Center of Olmsted County.

Details on virtual events can be found at the We are Water MN Rochester website.

More events are expected to be added while the exhibit is in Rochester and throughout the summer, with a possibility for in-person events following current COVID-19 safety guidelines.

We Are Water MN is a project of the Minnesota Humanities Center and its project partners are the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency, the Minnesota Historical Society, and the state departments of agriculture, health, and natural resources.