3 Teacher of the Year finalists from region

By Sarah Doty

Post-Bulletin, Rochester MN

Three local teachers have been recognized by Education Minnesota, the 70,000 member statewide teachers’ union, as finalists for the Teacher of the Year award.

Catarina Alme, an English teacher at Century High School; Michael Olson, a third-grade teacher at Folwell Elementary School; and Luke Merchlewitz, second-grade teacher at Washington-Kosciusko Elementary School in Winona, were selected along with eight others from around the state as finalists.

The finalists were narrowed down from the 101 candidates this year. The Teacher of the Year will be announced at a banquet on May 3. Last year’s winner was Derek Olson, a teacher in the Stillwater School District.

What To Read Next
Caitlin and Jason Keck’s two-year term on the American Farm Bureau Federation committee begins next month.
The Minnesota Public Utilities Commission met on Jan. 5, 2023, to consider the application for Summit Carbon Solutions.
Qualified Minnesota farmers will receive dollar-for-dollar matching money to purchase farmland.