Area runners bound for Boston

BOSTON -- Over 20,000 runners will take off at noon Monday in the 108th running of the Boston Marathon, the world's oldest marathon.

Last year Robert Kipkoech Cheuiyot of Kenya won the men's open in 2:10.11 while Svetlana Zakharova of Russia captured the women's open in 2:25.20.

To qualify to run the Boston Marathon, entrants must run a qualifying time at a certified marathon. Qualifying times are determined by one's age on the date of the marathon.

The course follows a point to point route from rural Hopkinton to Boston.

Twenty runners from southeastern Minnesota have qualified and are scheduled to run the race.



Southeastern Minnesota entries

LA CRESCENT -- Paul; Fuchsel Sr.

MABEL -- Mary Soukup-Selness.

ORONOCO -- Karen; Connelly.

ROCHESTER -- David Davidson, Maureen Jones, Julie Vander Schaaf, Jean Briggs, Michael Haddock, Karen Eckerman, Alan Fritsche, George Gura, Caroline Hennen, David Inwards, Nancy Marquette, Rick Devine, Douglas Husmann, Brett Koplin, Dawn Lyngen, Mark Scheitel. RUSHFORD -- Matt; Hubert.

What To Read Next
Fundraising is underway to move the giant ball of twine from the Highland, Wisconsin, home of creator James Frank Kotera, who died last month at age 75, 44 years after starting the big ball.