AUSTIN EDITION -- Austin can't sustain strong start

OWATONNA -- The season came to end for the Austin wrestling team with a four-point loss to Rochester Century on Thursday night in the first round of the Class AAA, Section One tournament.

Century opened the evening with a 37-33 victory over Austin in the first round. Austin led 27-10 before Century rallied with five wins. Century (9-10) was seeded ninth while Austin (7-17) was the eighth-seed.

The Packers started with wins in four of the first five matches. Danny Rysavy recorded a pin at 103.

After a forfeit at 112, the Packers got a couple of quick pins. Spencer Wolner pinned his opponent in just 20 seconds at 119, and T.J. Parlin remained unbeaten with a fall at 125.

Wolner is now 26-5, and Parlin improves to 30-0 as they get ready for the individual section next Friday at Winona.


Nick Zrucky put the Packers ahead by a 21-6 count with a close decision at 130. Josh Kestner then put the Packers lead at its zenith of 17 points with a pin at 140.

But the Panthers rallied to take the match. Only a forfeit to Jim Knoebel at heavyweight broke the Packers' free-fall down the stretch.

Owatonna began its defense of the Section 1AAA championship with a 57-9 quarterfinal round victory over Century. The top-seeded Huskies claimed six pins and a forfeit.

Owatonna (46-3) advances to the semifinal round Saturday at the Mayo Civic Center in Rochester beginning at 11 a.m. Owatonna has won the section team title the past six seasons.


103 -- Dan Rysavy (A) pinned Ben Ginther 3:00; 112 -- Sam Miller (RC) won by forfeit; 119 -- Spencer Wolner (A) pinned Nathan Beich :20; 125 -- T.J. Parlin (A) pinned Joe Weinmann 4:29; 130 -- Nick Zrucky (A) dec. Brenden Faust 7-5; 135 -- Sam Blum (RC) maj. dec. Andy Graham 10-0; 140 -- Josh Kestner (A) pinned David Karon 4:48; 145 -- Andrey Borkovsky (RC) won by forfeit; 152 -- Adam Jensen (RC) pinned Josh Solberg 3:49; 160 -- Barrett Ahle (RC) pinned Dan Smith 3:56; 171 -- Bill Brown (RC) pinned Jeff Cochran 3:55; 189 -- Alex Chase (RC) dec. Garett Plotts 8-2; 275 -- Jim Knoebel (A) won by forfeit.

Albert Lea ousts Mayo

In a way, history repeated itself on Thursday.


At least Rochester Mayo thought it had.

For the second time this season, Mayo lost to Albert Lea after winning six matches, losing six matches and forfeiting one match.

No. 3 Albert Lea beat No. 6 Mayo 35-28 in the Section One, Class AAA quarterfinals. Mayo, which has never made it to the section final four under coach Dwight Gingerich, appeared to have a legitimate shot on Thursday.

But a skin infection forced one of their starting wrestlers to sit out the match, thus the forfeit at 189 pounds. A win there, instead of a forfeit, and the outcome is totally different.

"If we'd wrestle them tomorrow something different would probably happen," Gingerich said.

Mayo, which beat Rochester John Marshall in the first round 57-6 earlier in the night, finishes 13-7. The record is vastly improved over years past. Add to that the fact that Mayo has but one senior (Joe Lawler) and one junior (Marc Higgins) on the roster, and the future looks extremely bright.

But right now, knowing they were that close to making it to the 1AAA final four at Mayo Civic Center this weekend, the Spartans are still feeling the sting left by Albert Lea.



Albert Lea 35, Mayo 28

103-- Josh Hansen (AL) pinned Matt Mauseth 3:34; 112-- Ryan Ihrke (M) pinned Alex Hansen 4:44; 119-- Dan Mauseth (M) dec. Nate Goodnature 6-4 OT; 125-- Brandon Klukow (AL) dec. Drew Hruska 5-1; 130-- Andy Leisen (M) maj. dec. Neal Underdahl 15-6; 135-- Adam Elseth (AL) pinned Ryan Vanderheiden 1:51; 140-- Adam Morreim (AL) pinned Josh Zabel 1:20; 145-- Jason Lawler (M) pinned Cory Frerk 5:16; 152-- Joe Lawler (M) pinned Dustin Eggum 1:44; 160-- Justin Krueger (AL) maj. dec. Luke Ties 12-0; 171-- Derek Goodnature (AL) maj. dec. Marc Higgins 20-10; 189-- Randy Larson (AL) won by forfeit; Hwt.-- Aaron Weets (M) dec. Adam Lares 4-2 OT.


Mayo 57, John Marshall 6

103-- Matt Mauseth (M) pinned Nate Redman 5:42; 112-- Ryan Ihrke (M) maj. dec. Mike Zenz 14-5; 119-- Dan Mauseth (M) dec. Lance Rud 10-8 OT; 125-- Drew Hruska (M) pinned Matt Wheeler 2:48; 130-- Ryan Vanderheiden (M) pinned Michelle Welsh 1:31; 135-- Ben Kroll (M) won by forfeit; 140-- Josh Zabel (M) pinned Thomas Torrez 1:26; 145-- Andrew Moe (M) maj. dec. Brett Rysted 12-2; 152-- Jason Lawler (M) maj. dec. Chuck Zenz 14-4; 160-- Joe Lawler won by forfeit; 171-- Luke Ties (M) pinned Cody Norton 5:23; 189-- Brett Stein (JM) dec. Marc Higgins 11-8; Hwt.-- Adam Maves (JM) dec. Aaron Weets 3-2.

What To Read Next
Fundraising is underway to move the giant ball of twine from the Highland, Wisconsin, home of creator James Frank Kotera, who died last month at age 75, 44 years after starting the big ball.