AUSTIN EDITION -- Austin High adds six more to Hall

Austin High will have six new members inducted into the school's Hall of Fame on Feb. 1.

The six members in the 18th class will bring the total in the Hall to 107. They will be inducted at halftime of the boys basketball game between Rochester Mayo and Austin on Friday, Feb. 1.

Here is a rundown of the Class of 2002:

Bruce Anderson. Anderson graduated in 1982. He helped guide the Packers to a pair of state tournaments in boys basketball in 1981 and '82. The 1980-81 Austin High team finished 24-1 and was the state runner-up. The Packers were ranked fourth in the state during the season and won the Big Nine as well as Region 1AA title. Anderson was named to the WCCO Prep Parade All-State team as a junior. He was Associated Press second-team all-state and was all-conference. He led the Packers in scoring, rebounding and blocked shots.

As a senior he was a co-captain and again guided the Packers to a Region 1AA crown and a state berth. He was all-conference and named all-state by the Minneapolis Tribune, WCCO and Minnesota Broadcasters. He was also a McDonald's All-American candidate as well as the Austin Nat Gaudy Award Winner. Anderson finished his career with 909 points in two varsity seasons. He went on to play at St. Cloud State.


Jim Fedson. Fedson graduated in 1978. He played football, basketball and baseball for the Packers and earned six letters. He was the co-captain of the football team his senior season. He had his best success in baseball. Fedson was all-conference and all-state in baseball and was the Nat Gaudy Award Winner his senior year. He also played in the state Lions All-Star Game.

Fedson went on to play baseball at Mankato State University. He is currently employed by Blue Cross and Blue Shield in Mankato.

Terrence Lee. Lee graduated in 1968 and had an outstanding four-year varsity career in swimming. He competed at the state meet four straight years in the 200-yard individual medley. He placed fourth in the state as a freshman in 1965 and then was the state runner-up as a sophomore, junior and senior.

According to Austin coach Bud Higgins, Lee was the best swimmer he every coached. Lee was a Bausch and Lomb Science Award winner in 1968 and he also won the Austin Nat Gaudy Award that year. Lee was also a very successful swimmer on the AAU level. He went on to swim at Iowa State University and was a co-captain his senior year in 1972.

Jeff Sanders. Sanders graduated in 1979. He competed in four sports at Austin High. He was a two-year letterwinner in football and was a captain and all-Big Nine selection as a senior. Sanders had his best success as a swimmer. He earned four letters and was all-conference and all-state in both his junior and senior seasons. He was a team captain as a senior.

Sanders also competed in track and baseball for the Packers. He went on to play both football and baseball at Austin Community College. He is currently teaching and coaching swimming at Minneapolis South High School.

Evar Silvernagle. Silvernagle was a teacher and coach in the Austin school system and he had great success as the Packers boys swimming coach. Silvernagle guided the Packers to state championships in swimming in 1945 and 1946. The Packers placed second in the state in 1942, '43, '44 and '47. The 1945 team was the first team south of the Twin Cities to win a state swimming title. Silvernagle produced two All-American and two national champions.

He went on to coach and teach at Rochester John Marshall for 17 years He was also an athletic director in Rochester.


Mark Stillwell. Stillwell graduated in 1987. He played football, hockey and tennis for the Packers and earned nine letters overall. He was a versatile athlete who earned all-conference honors in hockey. He was a member of the Big Nine champions in tennis and football in 1984. He was a member of the all-area football team, was KAUS Athlete of the Week in both football and hockey and was twice the Hockey Scholar Athlete.

Stillwell also excelled in music and academics. He now teaches in Jamestown, N.D.

Guy N. Limbeck is a Post-Bulletin sports writer. His column appears each Thursday. He can be reached at

What To Read Next
Caitlin and Jason Keck’s two-year term on the American Farm Bureau Federation committee begins next month.
The Minnesota Public Utilities Commission met on Jan. 5, 2023, to consider the application for Summit Carbon Solutions.
Qualified Minnesota farmers will receive dollar-for-dollar matching money to purchase farmland.
Wanda Patsche, new Farm Camp director, has farmed with her husband near I-90 in southern Minnesota since the 1970s and shares her passion for farming on her blog.