AUSTIN EDITION - Lyle graduate receives scholarship

Michael Aanoson, a 2005 graduating senior at Lyle, received a $1,000 scholarship from Mel Saxton's Austin Ford.

Aanoson is a FFA member planning to attend Riverland Community College.

12 receive business scholarships

Twelve Austin students have been presented with scholarships from the Austin Area Chamber of Commerce Business Education committee.

The 19th annual Access Scholarship banquet and award ceremony was in April. Cash scholarships and saving bonds totaling $7,100 were awarded. Each student received between $400 and $1,000.


The winners were Ashley Baumgardner, Tony Bissen, Kelly Thompson, Jacob Dalager, James Surdy, Shannon Smith, Jacob Winters, John Register, Hanna Middlebrook, Tucker Mithuen, Margaret Craven and Dan Collier.

What To Read Next
Fundraising is underway to move the giant ball of twine from the Highland, Wisconsin, home of creator James Frank Kotera, who died last month at age 75, 44 years after starting the big ball.