AUSTIN EDITION - Parlin sets record for career wins

Austin loses three times at Kasson-Mantorville meet

KASSON -- T.J. Parlin set a new Austin Packers record for career wins, but the team lost three times on Saturday at the Kasson-Mantorville Wrestling Challenge

Dassel-Cokato went 2-1, Caledonia was 2-0, Kasson Mantorville finished at 3-1, Plainview/Elgin-Millville was 1-3, and Austin went 0-3 on the day.

"Going 0-for-3 would leave most coaches disappointed, but instead I am very happy about our performance on Saturday," Austin coach Bill Kinney said. "We continue to wrestle very well against outstanding competition. We took all of our duals down to the wire and were in a position to win each of them."

K-M beat Austin 42-35 to start the tourney. In this dual match, Parlin broke the school record with his 155th career win, a third-period pin of B.J. Hoehn. Dan Day of Austin also got his first career varsity win in this match with a forfeit at 152.


The Packers held a late lead after Garett Plotts recorded a major decision at 189 pound. But a pair of pins by the KoMets in the final two matches sealed the Packers fate.

In the second round, PEM beat Austin 48-30. Tyler Johnson of PEM is ranked fourth in Class AA at 171 and Jesse Kahn is ranked fourth at 275. Both had pins against the Packers.

Highlights for Austin included another pin for Parlin. Dave Cunningham won his second match of the day, Dan Rysavy recorded his second pin of the tourney, and Marcus Ball at 171 got his second pin.

"We were missing one varsity wrestler because of ACT testing and another due to injury," Kinney said. "We gave away 18 to 24 points against each team. I think we would have gone 2-1, if we had our line-up from last Thursday night. We have one letterman set to rejoin the team soon and a couple of others that will move down a weight after Christmas, so we'll have more depth."

In the third-round, 12th ranked Dassel-Cokato beat Austin 44-31. Kurt Salmen of D-C is ranked fifth in Class AA at 112 lbs and was a state qualifier last year. Nels Anderson was a state qualifier last year and both of these wrestlers won matches against the Packers.

Shane Salmen of D-C was also a state qualifier last year, but he lost a close decision to Cunningham of Austin at 145. Rysavy, Parlin, and Ball all had pins for the Packers.

Top Austin records for the day included: Parlin with three wins to go 8-0 on the season; Rysavy with three pins to go 8-0; and Ball going 3-0 with a trio of pins to improve to 8-1 on the season. With three wins, Cunningham improved to 8-1 on the season and Plotts was 2-1 on the day for a 6-3 overall record.

"We've completed two weeks of the season and only two wrestlers in our varsity lineup have losing records," Kinney concluded. "I have not had a more balanced team in my 10 years here in Austin. This year we have a decent shot at any weight we send a wrestler out."


Austin (3-3) travels to Faribault on Friday for a triangular which will also include Farmington.

Kasson-Mantorville 42, Austin 35

103 -- Dan Rysavy (A) pinned Nate Nelson 1:46; 112 -- Jake Gosch (KM) pinned Jim McDermott 1:07; 119 -- Luke Slaymaker (KM) won by forfeit; 125 -- Spencer Garness (KM) pinned Nate Wilson 1:36; 130 -- T.J. Parlin (A) pinned B.J. Hoehn 5:38; 135 -- Matt Larson (KM) won by forfeit; 140 -- Ryan Grzanck (KM) won by forfeit; 145 -- Dave Cunningham (A) maj.dec. Brett Kuehl 16-4; 152 -- Dan Day (A) won by forfeit; 160 -- Tim Bissen (A) dec. Bryce Gransee 9-7; 171 -- Marcus Ball (A) pinned Chris Duncan 1:30; 189 -- Garett Plotts (A) maj.dec. Mark Gransee 11-0; 215 -- Alan Baily (KM) pinned Rob Frost 2:48; 275 -- Kyle Bailey (KM) pinned Mike Frost 3:57.

Plainview/Elgin-Millville 48, Austin 30

103 -- Dan Rysavy (A) pinned Jesse Campbell 3:34; 112 -- Rafe Snyder (PEM) dec. Jim McDermott 8-6 (OT); 119 -- Jason Wagner (PEM) won by forfeit; 125 -- Durand Kahn (PEM) won by forfeit; 130 -- Eric Johnson (PEM) pinned Nate Wilson (A) :29; 135 -- T.J. Parlin (A) pinned Jon Weinrich 1:30; 140 -- Wade Holst (PEM) won by forfeit; 145 -- Dave Cunningham (A) won by forfeit; 152 -- Kyle Gosse (PEM) won by forfeit; 160 -- Chad Murphy (PEM) dec. Tim Bissen 3-1; 171 -- Marcus Ball (A) pinned Brian Speltz :26; 189 -- Tyler Johnson (PEM) pinned Garett Plotts 3:12; 215 -- Rob Frost (A) pinned Brent Berning 5:34; 275 -- Jesse Kahn (PEM) pinned Mike Frost :50.

Dassel-Cokato 44, Austin 31

103 -- Dan Rysavy (A) pinned Tanner Dobmeier 5:01; 112 -- Kurt Salmen (DC) tech.fall Jim McDermott 16-0; 119 -- Tyler Thielsen (DC) won by forfeit; 125 -- Nels Anderson (DC) pinned Nate Wilson :53; 130 -- T.J. Parlin (A) pinned Matt Hohenstein 5:03; 135 -- Dan Nyquist (DC) won by forfeit; 140 -- Marshall Sager (DC) won by forfeit; 145 -- Dave Cunningham (A) dec. Shane Salmen 8-4; 152 -- Shane Swenson (DC) dec. Tim Bissen 11-10; 160 -- Jake Nelson (DC) won by forfeit; 171 -- Marcus Ball (A) pinned Todd Aho 3:06; 189 -- Garett Plotts (A) maj.dec. Mike Kisner 11-3; 215 -- Pete Phillipi (DC) pinned Rob Frost 1:23; 275 -- Mike Frost (A) pinned Mike Smith 1:27.

What To Read Next
Fundraising is underway to move the giant ball of twine from the Highland, Wisconsin, home of creator James Frank Kotera, who died last month at age 75, 44 years after starting the big ball.
Caitlin and Jason Keck’s two-year term on the American Farm Bureau Federation committee begins next month.
The Minnesota Public Utilities Commission met on Jan. 5, 2023, to consider the application for Summit Carbon Solutions.
Qualified Minnesota farmers will receive dollar-for-dollar matching money to purchase farmland.