AUSTIN EDITION Pilot cruises to ladies title

Claudia Pilot of Austin easily won the championship flight of the 2003 Austin Country Club Ladies Invitational.

Pilot, one of the elite women's golfers in the state, beat runner-up Brenda Williams by 15 strokes. Pilot had a 36-hole total of 150 while Williams, who plays out of Island View, had a 155.

A total of 105 players in 10 flights competed in the event. All 10 flights were scheduled to play two rounds, but only the championship flight players got in a second 18 holes of play. The others flights all were rained out.

Players from around Minnesota competed in the event. Some from Iowa, Wisconsin and Arizona were also in the field.

Joan Saxton was the only other flight winner from Austin. Saxton shot an 84 to win the second flight.


Ann Jones of Austin shot a 91 to place second in the third flight. Carl Huff of Austin shot a 93 to tie for second in the fourth flight while Pam Hoffman was second in the ninth flight.

2003 Austin Country Club Ladies Invitational

(Top finishers, home course and score)

Championship Flight

1. Claudia Pilot (Austin Country Club) 140; 2. Brenda Williams (Island View) 155; 3. Kara Salava (Prestwick) 158.

First Flight

1. Kathy Estes (Bracketts Crossing) 79; 2. Rita Bauer (Forest Hills) 81; 3. Cheryl Jones (Cedar River Country Club) 85.

Second Flight


1. Joan Saxton (Austin Country Club) 84; 2. Carol Dougherty (Northern Hills) 86; 3. Shelly Peterson (Monticello) 88.

Third Flight

1. Kathy McCarthy (Minnesota Valley) 88; 2. Anne Jones (Austin Country Club) 91; 3. Kathleen Stroh (Minnesota Valley) 92.

Fourth Flight

1. Sylvia McGinty (Dellwood Hills) 92; 2. (tie) Renee Devins (Town &; Country Club), Carol Huff (Austin Country Club), Char Dannheim (New Ulm) 93.

Fifth Flight

1. Mary Wurbel (Arrowhead C.C.) 92; 2. Shari Wagner (Cedar River C.C.) 93; 3. (tie) Gwen Morem (Austin C.C.), Leslie Lasiuta (Forest Hills) 94.

Sixth Flight


1. (tie) Dianne Olmstead (Tarten Park), Betty Walz (Forest Hills) 96; 3. Reggie Stone (Manitou Ridge) 97.

Seventh Flight

1. Jean Loucks (Forest Hills) 94; 2. Shirley Lindberg (Voyager Village) 98; 3. (tie) Sandra Wagner (Austin C.C.), Joyce Halvorson (Austin C.C.) 99.

Eighth Flight

1. Darlene Dunn (Manitou Ridge) 92; 2. Kay Smaby (Austin C.C.) 99; 2. Shirley Burke (Forest Hills) 103.

Ninth Flight

1. Judy Gustafson (Forest Hills) 99; 2. Pam Hoffman (Austin C.C.) 105, 3. Kathy Parent (Castlewood) 109.

What To Read Next
Caitlin and Jason Keck’s two-year term on the American Farm Bureau Federation committee begins next month.
The Minnesota Public Utilities Commission met on Jan. 5, 2023, to consider the application for Summit Carbon Solutions.
Qualified Minnesota farmers will receive dollar-for-dollar matching money to purchase farmland.