Austin High students receive musical honors

Post-Bulletin, Austin MN

Several students at Austin High School have been recognized for their performances at various state contests and auditions.


Eleven AHS students have been selected to perform this month at the Minnesota Music Educators Association convention.

Mary Bissen, Leah Lumley, Jacob Larson, David Koser, Garth Strobel, Kelsey Fleming, Hanna Middlebrook, Ingrid Baudler, Victoria Torkelson, Ben Bachmeier and Amanda Mattick will perform as part of the all-state orchestra, band and choir ensembles Friday and Saturday at the Minneapolis Convention Center. The students were selected from hundreds of music students who auditioned all over the state last year.


Region/state contests

More than 100 AHS music students participated in Minnesota State High School League Region/State Music Contest on Jan. 31 at Lakeville South High School. Many of the students received excellent and superior rankings on their independently prepared performances.

Seven entries were selected as "Best-of-Site" performances. Those students include Kelsey Fleming, harp solo and vocal solo; David Koser, bassoon solo and vocal solo; Victoria Torkelson, violin solo; Ryan Meyer and Mary Bissen, vocal duet; Kelsey Fleming, Nicole Shatek, Kristine Iverson and Danielle Jondal, ensemble.

Students who received the superior award include Cathy Anderson, McKenzie Anderson, Olivia Blake, Jon Koser, Eliza Anderson, Ashley Arhart, Cami Longueville, Breanna Wehner, Brianna Gabrielson, Molly Bissen, Ben Bachmeier, Emily Bachmeier, Taylor Pedersen, Jacob Bentley, Jordan Bentley, Caleb Bentley, Nate Riley, Breonna Bergstrom, Gabe Franta, Tim Erickson, Mary Ann Duren, Jeff Davis, Kira Potach, Jacob Whalen, Chris Folken, Mikayla Eskens, Vivi Gallegos, Nick Hillberg, Sigin Ojullu, Samantha Johnson, Breanna Stegenga, Tyler Slack, James Kestner, Michael King, Leah Lumley, Ryan Larson, Brandon Legried, Katrina Carolan, Rebecca Wichman, Gunnar Peters, Jenna Baker, Ashley Smith, Katy Pfeifer, Abby Thompson, April Winter, Hanna Middlebrook, Ingrid Baudler, Lauren Jensen, Julia Wagner, Alex Knoll, Amanda Mattick, Martha McDermott, Julia Dudley, Alyssa Schroeder, Britta Andersen, Laura Merten, Kayla VandeZande, Michelle Johannsen, Shelby Oldenkamp, Jacob Crosby, Braun Oldenkamp and Max Johannsen.

Students who received the excellence award include Lyndsey Buttshaw, Emily Thompson, Stephany Brehmer, Heather Case, Emily Hagan, Garrison Meyer, Lauren Nelson, Alex Perrin, Brooke Joblinske, Hannah Lumley, Natalie Swan, Daman Zimbelman, Emily Beckel, Ciara Marshall, Lila Johnson, David Erdahl, Neil Erdahl, Gabe Ramirez-Hernandez, Luke Bennett, Jack Miller, Erika Smith, Molly Maschka and Alejandra Fabian. 

For more information, go to

Minnesota Music Educators Association

Photo courtesy of Austin High School


Several Austin High School music students’ entries at the Minnesota State High School League Region/State Music Contest were selected as "Best of Site" performances, including, front: Nicole Shatek, Danielle Jondal, Kristine Iverson and Kelsey Fleming; and back: David Koser, Victoria Torkelson, Mary Bissen and Ryan Meyer.

Photo courtesy of Austin High School

Eleven Austin High School students have been selected to perform this month at the Minnesota Music Educators Association convention as part of the all-state orchestra, band and choir ensembles, including, front row: Mary Bissen, Leah Lumley, Hanna Middlebrook and Kelsey Fleming; and back row: David Koser, Ben Bachmeier, Garth Strobel, Jacob Larson, Ingrid Baudler, Amanda Mattick and Victoria Torkelson.

What To Read Next
Fundraising is underway to move the giant ball of twine from the Highland, Wisconsin, home of creator James Frank Kotera, who died last month at age 75, 44 years after starting the big ball.
Caitlin and Jason Keck’s two-year term on the American Farm Bureau Federation committee begins next month.
The Minnesota Public Utilities Commission met on Jan. 5, 2023, to consider the application for Summit Carbon Solutions.
Qualified Minnesota farmers will receive dollar-for-dollar matching money to purchase farmland.