National Championship

(RCTC results)

125 -- Apltekin Ozkiic (Nassau CC) dec. Matt Bauer (RCTC) 11-5. Bauer drew a bye, then was decisioned 6-0 by Derrick Sharp of Glouchester County College.

149 -- Francesco Meringolo (Nassau) pinned Dan Gerow (RCTC) 2:14. Gerow dec. Michael Alfonso (Waubon) 15-0. Josh Eagan (Niagra) pinned Gerow 1:56.

157 -- Bryan; Cantrell (Clackamus CC) dec. Kyle Kallenbach (RCTC) 5-2. Kallenbach drew a bye, then dec. Brandon Connell (WMTrade) 2-1. Micah Keller (Ellsworth) dec. Kallenbach 10-1.


165 -- Alvin Metcalf (Labette CC) maj. dec. Jeff Sellman (RCTC) 12-4. Sellman drew a bye, then dec. Art Moss (Mercyhurst NE) 2-1. Sellman dec. Jimmy Harris (Gloucester) 3-1. Chris Riding (Northwest College) dec. Sellman 8-3.

174 -- Kasey Meiners (RCT) had a bye. Meiners pinned Justin Fletcher (WM Trade) 12-7. Meiners pinned Andy Perez (Waubon) :52. Meiners in semifinals vs. Tommy McCarthy (Labette).

197 -- Sid Russell (Spaartanburg Methodist) maj. dec. Kent Tengblad (RCTC) 14-3. Tengblad drew a bye, then lost maj. dec. to David Garcia (West NY).

285 -- Nick Weber (RCTC) dec. Rob Tanner (Gloucester) 7-6. Weber dec. Spencer Bowles (Northwest) 6-2. John Webb (Muskegon) dec. Weber 5-3. Chris Miller (Itasca) dec. Weber 5-2.

What To Read Next
Fundraising is underway to move the giant ball of twine from the Highland, Wisconsin, home of creator James Frank Kotera, who died last month at age 75, 44 years after starting the big ball.