COL Kohls will head county elevator association

MANKATO, Minn. -- Northwest Agri-Dealers Association, a trade association of county elevators, feed mills and fertilizer dealers, has elected officers for 2002-2003.

Orval Kohls of Wheaton-Dumont Cooperative Elevator, Wheaton, Minn., was elected president. Randy Rieke of Farmers Cooperative of Hanska in Hanska, Minn., was elected vice president. Two new directors were also elected -- Dave Pelzer, Gold'n Plump Poultry, Sauk Rapids, Minn.; and Don Larson, Sargeant Grain Company, Sargeant, Minn.

Scott Potter of Morgan Grain &; Feed Company, Morgan, Minn., was honored for his dedication and guidance as the association's president for the past two years.

Nelson will lead Iowa corn growers

JOHNSTON, Iowa -- Dave Nelson, a corn grower from Belmond, Iowa, has been elected president of the Iowa Corn Growers Association for 2002-2003.


Nelson has farmed for 28 years and has been an ICGA director since 1998.

"A major focus for the ICGA this year has to be telling the truth about the importance of Iowa's livestock industry,'' he said. "We have to strengthen our partnerships with other associations and work together to make sure everyone knows how important livestock is to Iowa's corn growers and Iowa's citizens.''

Elected to serve with Nelson were Dave Sieck, Glenwood, president-elect; Dave Calderwood, Traer, treasurer; and Keith Sexton, Rockwell City, secretary.

Monsanto wins case against farmer

SASKATOON, Saskatchewan -- A federal appeals court has upheld a lower court ruling that Saskatchewan farmer Percy Schmeiser violated the patent held by Monsanto Co. on herbicide-resistant canola.

Monsanto, a U.S. agriculture products company, sued Schmeiser for growing its Roundup Ready canola without the company's permission.

Schmeiser, of Bruno, Saskatchewan, was ordered last year to pay 19,000 Canadian dollars ($12,450 U.S.) in damages and Monsanto's court costs of 153,000 Canadian dollars ($100,000 U.S.).

Schmeiser had argued the herbicide-resistant canola seed arrived in his field by accident, either from blowing off a passing truck or by cross-pollination. The lower court judge rejected his explanation, saying it was more likely Schmeiser planted the seed himself.


North Dakota has record corn, bean crop

FARGO, N.D. -- The Agriculture Department raised its estimates last week for record corn and soybean production in North Dakota, based on conditions early this month.

The state's corn crop is now is forecast at a record 113.3 million bushels, up 3 percent from last month's projection.

The amount of corn acreage harvested for grain is estimated at 1 million acres, compared with 705,000 acres last year, the state Agricultural Statistics Service said. This year's yield is estimated at 110 bushels per acre.

North Dakota's soybean production is forecast at a record high 84 million bushels, up 6 percent from the August forecast and 17 percent above last year. The yield is estimated at 35 bushels per acre.

Sugar beet growers are expected to harvest 5.25 million tons of beets, up from the August forecast of 4.95 million tons. The average yield is projected at 18.5 tons per acre, with acreage up 20 percent from last year.

Tyson Foods sells Specialty Brands

SPRINGDALE, Ark. -- Tyson Foods Inc. said last week it had agreed to sell its Specialty Brands Inc. subsidiary to Fremont Partners, a San Francisco-based private equity firm.


Terms of the transaction were not disclosed, but Springdale-based Tyson said in its news release that the sale is expected to result in a pre-tax gain of up to $25 million.

According to Tyson, Specialty Brands is a leading producer, processor and marketer of frozen food products, including frozen hand-held Mexican appetizers and entrees, frozen filled pasta, and coated appetizers. Its brands include Jose Ole, Fred's for Starters, Rotanelli, Marquez, Posada, Little Juan and Butcher Boy. Specialty Brands, based in Ontario, Calif., has manufacturing plants in New York, Missouri, Texas, New Mexico, and California.

CHS, Agway reach purchase agreement

MINNEAPOLIS -- CHS Cooperatives and Agway Inc. have signed an agreement that will allow the Harvest States Division of CHS to acquire Agway's Grandin, N.D.-based sunflower business.

Terms of the deal, which is expected to close this week, weren't announced. Agway Sunflower is the largest U.S. processor and a worldwide distributor of sunflower kernel and in-shell for use as baking ingredients and snacks. It also is a major supplier of wild bird feed, millet and confection sunflower hybrids.

Stillman will lead ISPB board

URBANDALE, Iowa -- The Iowa Soybean Promotion Board elected Jim Stillman of Emmetsburg as its 2002-2003 chairman during its recent organizational meeting.

John Heisdorffer of Keota was elected vice chairman. Alan Karkosh of Hudson is the new secretary. Ray Gaesser of Corning was elected treasurer. Anders Knutsen of St. Ansgar was elected member at-large. Jim Legvold of Vincent, immediate past chairman, will also serve on the executive committee.

What To Read Next
Caitlin and Jason Keck’s two-year term on the American Farm Bureau Federation committee begins next month.
The Minnesota Public Utilities Commission met on Jan. 5, 2023, to consider the application for Summit Carbon Solutions.
Qualified Minnesota farmers will receive dollar-for-dollar matching money to purchase farmland.
Wanda Patsche, new Farm Camp director, has farmed with her husband near I-90 in southern Minnesota since the 1970s and shares her passion for farming on her blog.