Dairy Princesses

By Jean Caspers-Simmet

ANKENY, Iowa -- Seventeen; girls representing Iowa county and breed organizations will vie for the Iowa Dairy Princess title Aug. 10 and 11 in Des Moines.

Contestants will be judged on communication skills, personality, dairy industry knowledge, and enthusiasm for dairy promotion. The coronation ceremony for the 51st contest will take place at 8 p.m. Aug. 11 in the Media Center of the Cattle Barn at the Iowa State Fairgrounds.

Girls competing for the Iowa Dairy Princess title are:


Trisha Anderson, 17, Wellsburg, representing Grundy County. The daughter of Daryl and Brenda Anderson, she will attend Kirkwood Community College this fall.

Amanda Arlen, 20, New Vienna, representing Iowa Jersey. She is the daughter of Charlie and Julie Arlen and is pursing a banking and finance degree at Kirkwood Community College.

Jessica Balk, 17, Waucoma, representing Chickasaw County. The daughter of Leo and Mary Balk, she will graduate from Turkey Valley High School in 2005.

Megan Brocka, Tripoli, representing Bremer County. The daughter of Alan Brocka and Shelly Wolf, she will graduate from Tripoli High School in 2005.

Jeanne Herbert, 20, Rock Rapids, representing Lyon County. The daughter of Tom and Norbert Herbert, she is pursing a degree in early childhood education at South Dakota State University.

Heather Horst, 16, representing Butler County. The daughter of Robert and Patricia Horst, she will graduate from North Butler High School in 2004.

Danielle Koester, 18, El Dorado, representing Fayette County. The daughter of Jeff Koester and Lori Franzen, she will attend Wartburg College in the fall.

Maureen Kregel, 19, Guttenberg, representing Clayton County. She is the daughter of Gary and Darlene Kregel and is studying dairy science at Northeast Iowa Community College.


Laura Leazer, 19, Wilton, representing Iowa Holstein. The daughter of Steve and Gloria Leazer, she is majoring in agronomy at Iowa State University.

Jennifer Medlang, 19, Kensett, representing Brown Swiss. The daughter of Morris and Jenelle Medlang, she is pursuing a degree in dairy science and dairy management at Northeast Iowa Community College.

Britnie Robinson, 18, Plainfield, representing Iowa Guernsey. The daughter of Darrell and Etta Robinson, she will attend Hawkeye Community College to pursue a degree in animal science.

Dana Stendel, 17, Decorah, representing Winneshiek County. The daughter of Scott and Elaine Stendel, she will graduate from Decorah High School in 2005.

Tina Till, Maquoketa, representing the Ayrshire Breed. She is the daughter of Allan and Karen Till. She is working on a degree in nursing at the University of Iowa.

Katie Trenkamp, 18, Preston, representing Jackson/Clinton County. She is the daughter of Lonnie and Lola Trenkamp will attend Clark College to work on a degree in physical therapy/athletic training.

Sara Wenthold, 18, Dyersville, representing Delaware County. The daughter of Eugene and Dixie Wenthold, she is pursuing a degree in business and preveterinary medicine at Central College.

Emily Wolfswinkel, 18, Sioux Center, representing Sioux County. The daughter of Henry and Betty Wolfswinkel, she will attend Stewart School of Cosmetology.


Elizabeth Wonderlich, Waterville, representing Allamakee County. The daughter of Chris and Nancy Wonderlich, she is majoring in biology and secondary education at Iowa State University.

The Iowa Dairy Princess and Alternate Iowa Dairy Princess serve as the official goodwill ambassadors for Iowa's dairy industry. Throughout the year they make a variety of public and media appearances, educating consumers about dairy farming and health benefits of dairy products. Current Dairy Princess Kayla Hotvedt, Decorah, and Alternate Iowa Dairy Princess Lindsey Stewart, Oelwein, will crown the new princess.

The dairy princess program is sponsored by the Iowa Division of Midwest Dairy Association, a nonprofit organization funded by dairy farmers to build demand for dairy products through advertising, marketing, nutrition education and research.

What To Read Next
Caitlin and Jason Keck’s two-year term on the American Farm Bureau Federation committee begins next month.
The Minnesota Public Utilities Commission met on Jan. 5, 2023, to consider the application for Summit Carbon Solutions.
Qualified Minnesota farmers will receive dollar-for-dollar matching money to purchase farmland.