Rochester City Council member Annalissa Johnson announced Friday she will not seek a second term, citing the COVID-19 pandemic in her statement.

“During this extraordinary time, it has become clear to me that my business demands my attention to recover and rebound,” she said in a statement posted on Facebook Friday morning. “Due to this, I have made the decision not to seek a second term. I believe Ward 6 deserves a representative who is able to work full time to leverage our City resources to lead our community.”

Johnson, who owns Good Dog Camp at 608 Seventh St. NW, is the second council member to announce they will not seek re-election. Ward 4 council member Mark Bilderback has also indicated he will not seek another term.

So far, six candidates filed for Rochester City Council seats that will be on the Nov. 3 ballot, setting up at least two races.

Mark Bransford, a software engineer, and Denise Welte, a small-business owner, have filed for the Ward 2 council seat. Current Second Ward council member Michael Wojcik has said he is still deciding whether to seek another term.

Kelly Rae Kirkpatrick, a landscape designer, and Abel Brito, a sales manager, have submitted paperwork for the Ward 4 seat.

In Ward 6, Todd Pisarski, a certified public accountant, is the only candidate to file at this point.

Greg Munson, a retired educator, is the only candidate filed for the at-large city council president seat. The incumbent, Randy Staver, has indicated he'd like to run for one more term, but said his final decision will be made during the filing period.


The filing period for city and county elections ends at 5 p.m. June 2.

In Olmsted County elections, the four incumbents up for re-election -- Jim Bier, Stephanie Podulke, Mark Thein and Gregg Wright -- have submitted paperwork to be on the ballot.

The Minnesota Secretary of State’s website shows no challengers for any of the seat so far.

Information regarding filing for Olmsted County board seats is available online at, and information for seeking a Rochester City Council seat can be found at