Vance Trophy

Post Bulletin employees, from left, Noah Fish, Andrew Link and Jeff Kiger raise the Vance Trophy. The trophy is awarded annually by the Minnesota Newspaper Association to the top daily newspaper in the state.

BLOOMINGTON — The Post Bulletin collected 19 awards from the Minnesota Newspaper Association’s Better Newspaper Contest on Thursday, and the take included the evening’s most sought-after prize: the Vance Trophy.

The Post Bulletin won seven first-place awards, nine second-place awards and three third-place awards. Each award carries different point values. The newspaper with the most points at the end of the evening wins the Vance Trophy. The competition included publications with circulations of 10,000 or more but did not include the Star Tribune or the Pioneer Press.

“Kudos to our talented team! It’s great to see the team appreciated by their peers,” said Post Bulletin General Manager Chris Blade.

Newspapers ranging from small weeklies to large dailies from all over Minnesota submitted more than 4,000 entries for the contest, according to the MNA.

The Post Bulletin last won the Vance Trophy in 2018, and in 2001 prior to that. The trophy is awarded annually to the top daily newspaper in Minnesota, and was created in honor of the Jim Vance family of Worthington.

First place awards

• Editorial Page as a Whole, Post Bulletin

• Editorial Page as a Whole, Agri News

• Headline Writing, Post Bulletin

• Social Issues, Jeff Kiger

• Feature Photo, Andrew Link

• Photo Story, Joe Ahlquist

• Best Magazine, Roch Mag

Second place awards

• General Excellence, Post Bulletin

• General Reporting, Post Bulletin

• General Reporting, Agri News

• Headline Writing, Agri News

• Hard News, Noah Fish

• Sports Reporting, Post Bulletin

• Sports Story, Pat Ruff

• Advertising Excellence, Post Bulletin

• Website, Post Bulletin

Third place awards

• Sports Photo, Andrew Link

• Typography & Design, Post Bulletin

• Herman Roe Editorial Writing Award, Jay Furst

What's your reaction?