Lourdes boys add Mayo Invitational to resume

By Jason Feldman

For all of the talented boys golf teams Rochester Lourdes has had, for all of the section and state titles the Eagles have won, one trophy was missing from their case: The Mayo Invitational.

That changed Wednesday at Oak Summit Golf Course, as four Lourdes golfers broke 80 to post a winning team score of 308.

Rochester Mayo also shot 308, but Lourdes was awarded the victory on a tie-breaker (Lourdes’ fifth golfer, Nic Jensen, shot 81, while Mayo’s fifth scorer, Brock Case, shot 85).


Rochester Century, John Marshall and Mayo have won the 31-year-old meet at least three times each, so first-year Lourdes head coach Chris Miller was pleased to finally add the Eagles to the list of meet winners. Danny Johnson led the Eagles with a 76, and Eric Amundson — the team’s lone senior — shot 77.

"I’m just really happy for our kids and proud of what they were able to do," Miller said. "They all played really well. To win this is a credit to our kids. It’s a big win for us."

Mayo senior Jeff Porter made some tournament history, too. He was the meet medalist, setting a meet record with his score of even-par 70, a round that included a triple-bogey. Porter has put together back-to-back solid rounds, after shooting a 1-under 70 at the Tri-State Invitational at Minneapolis on Saturday.

Tim Bouquet (77) also broke 80 for the Spartans.

"Jeff’s playing well," Mayo coach Neil McCormack said. "Early in the year, he had a couple of rounds he wasn’t really happy with, but (Wednesday) and last Saturday were better rounds for him. He’s playing really well."

McCormack said he is pleased with the improvement the Spartans are making as a team.

"We had a couple of guys who were struggling early in the year who played much better (Wednesday)," McCormack said. "That’s what you look at right now, that there games are coming together and they’re improving."

Porter’s closest competitors were Winona’s Craig Olson (75), Lourdes’ Johnson and Century’s Chris Myhro (76).


Myhro, a senior, has put in a lot of time on his game this spring, including spending about a week in Texas practicing with Century teammate Aria Sameni. While he was pleased with his ball-striking — he missed only two fairways Wednesday — he wasn’t as pleased with his short game.

"I like to play against guys like (Porter) who are solid golfers," Myhro said. "It always hurts to lose, but when I lose I practice twice as hard.

"I’ll be working a lot on my putting, I guess."

Century finished just three shots out of first place, as four Panthers broke 80. In addition to Myhro’s 76, Sameni shot 79, and Bryan Sewell and Brennan Erickson each shot 78.

"Aria’s a very solid golfer; he’s our No. 2," Myhro said, "and we have some younger guys who are playing very, very well."

John Marshall finished eighth, led by Ben Swegarden’s 78.




Rochester Lourdes 308*, Rochester Mayo 308, Rochester Century 311, Cretin-Derham Hall 318, Winona 320, Bloomington Jefferson 327, Austin 328, Rochester John Marshall 330, Red Wing 341.

* — won tie-breaker


Rochester Lourdes (308): Danny Johnson 37-39—76, Eric Amundson 41-36—77, Alex Kapraun 37-40—77, Louis Rownd 39-39—78.

Rochester Mayo (308): Jeff Porter 36-34—70, Tim Bouquet 38-39—77, Ty Moessner 40-40—80, Peter Nyberg 42-39—81.

Rochester Century (311): Chris Myhro 36-40—76, Bryan Sewell 42-36–78, Brennan Erickson 39-39—78, Aria Sameni 41-38—79.

Cretin-Derham Hall (318): Dylan Gergan 38-39—77, Jake Guzik 40-39—79, Nick Kurtz 41-39—80, Jack Thumser 43-39—82.

Winona (320): Craig Olson 39-36—75, Joe Zimbric 39-39—78, Sheldon Haedtke 42-37—79, Justin Ewert 45-43—88.

Bloomington Jefferson (327): Ben Batz 41-39—80, Ben Polland 42-39—81, Jon Mays 38-43—81, Bobby Kempainen 42-43—85.

Austin (328): Nick Tabor 41-39—80, Drew Osier 40-41—81, James Thorson 40-42—82, Aaron Rasell 44-41—85.

Rochester John Marshall (330): Ben Swegarden 40-38—78, Luke Robison 44-38—82, Cody Hoksch 43-41—84, Tyler Radosevic 46-40—86, Jordan Herman 43-43—86.

Red Wing (341): Steve Lang 42-41—83, Will Droogsma 43-41—84, Jared Nelson 43-41—84, Tanner Borgen 43-47—90.

What To Read Next
Caitlin and Jason Keck’s two-year term on the American Farm Bureau Federation committee begins next month.
The Minnesota Public Utilities Commission met on Jan. 5, 2023, to consider the application for Summit Carbon Solutions.
Qualified Minnesota farmers will receive dollar-for-dollar matching money to purchase farmland.
Wanda Patsche, new Farm Camp director, has farmed with her husband near I-90 in southern Minnesota since the 1970s and shares her passion for farming on her blog.