Mayo stays perfect

PRIOR LAKE, Minn. -- Rochester Mayo is still perfect.

Saturday night, the Spartans stayed that way in emphatic fashion, romping to the team title in the Prior Lake Tournament.

Mayo finished with 218 points. Runner-up in the nine-team meet was Chisago Lakes, with a distant 139 score.

"Going into the meet I thought that we would be favored," said Spartans coach Dwight Gingerich, whose team is 5-0 in duals and has won all three tournaments it has entered. "But we did wrestle pretty well."

Mayo did well enough to place 12 wrestlers in the tournament finals. Five of them won titles.


Matt Mauseth won at 112 pounds (2-0 in the event), Drew Hruska won at 130 pounds (2-0), Andy Leisen won at 145 (3-0), Dan Goodson won at 215 (2-0), and Aaron Weets won at heavyweight (2-0).

Hruska moved to 9-1, Leisen to 11-1 and Goodson to 8-1.

Runners-up for Mayo were 103-pounder Seth Marbry (2-1), 119-pounder Ryan Ihrke (1-1), 152-pounder Josh Zabel (1-1), and 160-pounder Luke Ties (1-1).

Prior Lake Tournament

Rochester Mayo 218, Chisago Lakes 139, Glencoe-Silver Lake 131.5, Montgomery-Lonsdale 124, Prior Lake 110, Gibbon-Fairfax-Winthrop 96, Lac qui Parle Valley 91, Armstrong 73, Andover 29

What To Read Next
Caitlin and Jason Keck’s two-year term on the American Farm Bureau Federation committee begins next month.
The Minnesota Public Utilities Commission met on Jan. 5, 2023, to consider the application for Summit Carbon Solutions.
Qualified Minnesota farmers will receive dollar-for-dollar matching money to purchase farmland.