New chairman selected for Mayo Clinic Jacksonville

We are part of The Trust Project.

From staff reports

Dr. George B. Bartley of Rochester has been chosen as the next chairman of the Mayo Clinic Jacksonville board of governors.

Bartley will replace Dr. Denis A. Cortese. Cortese will begin a transition later this year to replace Dr. Michael B. Wood as president and chief executive of Mayo Foundation. Cortese will be based in Rochester.

Bartley will assume his responsibilities in Florida on Jan. 1.

He has been a consultant in ophthalmology at Mayo Clinic Rochester since 1986 and is a professor of ophthalmology at Mayo Medical School. His subspecialty interest is oculoplastic and orbital surgery. He has been chairman the Department of Ophthalmology and served as director of the department's residency program.


Bartley is a member of the Mayo Clinic Rochester board of governors and has served as vice chairman of the board's administrative and finance committees. He has been a member of the personnel committee and serves on the research committee and the Mayo Foundation education and finance committees.

What To Read Next
Caitlin and Jason Keck’s two-year term on the American Farm Bureau Federation committee begins next month.
The Minnesota Public Utilities Commission met on Jan. 5, 2023, to consider the application for Summit Carbon Solutions.
Qualified Minnesota farmers will receive dollar-for-dollar matching money to purchase farmland.