New faces join Mayo Clinic trustees

Post-Bulletin, Rochester MN

The Mayo Clinic Board of Trustees named four new members, elected officers and recognized two awardees of Mayo Clinic named professorships during its meeting last week in Jacksonville, Fla.

Brad Anderson, the vice chairman and chief executive officer of Best Buy, Inc., joined the board as a public trustee. A. Dano Davis, Louis Gonda and Marilyn Carlson Nelson were re-elected to four-year terms as public trustees.

Dr. R. Scott Gorman and Dr. William Rupp were named internal trustees for four-year terms. Dr. Dawn Milliner and Jeffrey Korsmo were elected to one-year terms as internal trustees.

Former U.S. Sen. Thomas A. Daschle, Dr. George B. Bartley and Dr. Franklyn Prendergast were recognized for completion of their service as trustees. C. Dale Rustad was honored for his 40 years of continuous staff support to the Board of Trustees.


Mayo Clinic’s 2009 officers include President and Chief Executive Officer Denis Cortese, M.D., and five vice presidents: Chief Administrative Officer Shirley Weis; Glenn Forbes, M.D.; William Rupp, M.D.; Nina Schwenk, M.D. and Victor Trastek, M.D.

The trustees also honored two Mayo Clinic named professors:

  •  Dr. Mark Warner a consultant in the Department of Anesthesiology at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, is the recipient of the Walter and Leonore Annenberg Professorship in Anesthesiology Honoring Dr. Daniel R. Brown, Ph.D. Warner currently serves as Dean of Mayo School of Graduate Medical Education and is the current president of the American Board of Anesthesiology and the president-elect of the American Society of Anesthesiologists.
  • Dr. Svetomir Markovic, Ph.D., who holds the academic rank of professor of medicine and associate professor of oncology, was recognized with distinction as the Charles F. Mathy Professor in Melanoma Research, which was established by Leah Mathy and her family to honor their husband and father. The late Charles Mathy, a leading La Crosse, Wis., area businessman and owner of Mathy Construction Co., was a contributing force in the 1995 partnering of Franciscan Health System, Skemp Clinic and Mayo Clinic, and served on the advisory board. Markovic’s focus is on the use of emerging immunotherapeutics for the treatment of malignant diseases.

Named professorships at Mayo Clinic represent the highest academic distinction for a faculty member. Faculty are appointed to a professorship through nomination and endorsement of their peers and then confirmed by Mayo Clinic senior leadership.
The Mayo Clinic Board of Trustees, a 31-member group of public representatives and Mayo physicians and administrators, is responsible for patient care, medical education and research activities at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Jacksonville, Scottsdale, Ariz., and Phoenix.

What To Read Next
Fundraising is underway to move the giant ball of twine from the Highland, Wisconsin, home of creator James Frank Kotera, who died last month at age 75, 44 years after starting the big ball.