Oklahoma driver wins Modified features over weekend

Post-Bulletin staff

Jason Hughes made himself feel right at home in southeastern Minnesota over the weekend.

The United States Modified Touring Series driver from Westville, Okla., edged Zumbrota’s Brad Waits on Saturday at Deer Creek Speedway in Spring Valley to capture the $2,000 winner’s check in the USMTS A Main.

Sunday, Hughes went without the drama, taking the lead on lap two of the USMTS A Main at Kasson Speedway and cruising to his second consecutive victory.

A first-lap crash knocked Hughes out of the A Main on Friday during the Guttormson Memorial race at Chateau Raceway in Lansing.


Zack VanderBeek started on the pole Sunday, but Hughes got by him on the outside early in the second lap to grab the lead for good.

Waits, who started fifth, came back to finish second again, followed by Corey Dripps in third.

Nick Herrick captured the WISSOTA super stocks feature, while Kenny Wytaske was the winner in the midwest modifieds division.

Dan Holland was victorious in the WISSOTA street stocks A Main; Craig Hanson won the pure stocks; and Gary Stahl captured the A Main in the five-car Hornets division.


Feature: Hughes, Waits, Dripps, Bohr, VanderBeek, Mahlstadt, Shryock, Sorensen, Noble, Donlinger, Hejna, Sharkey, Myer, Wetzstein, Timm, Kenney, Rowland, Hillson, Paulson, Ramirez, Wernecke, Pittman, Gustin , Mondus.

B Main 1: Wetzstein, Noble, Hillson, Pittman, Wernecke, Schaefer, Neal, Ihrke, Graham, Schlangen, Poidinger, Parker. B Main 2: Scharkey, Mahlstadt, Timm, Rowland, Kenney, Myer, Schluetter, Ramirez, Karau, Noteboom, Stewart.

Heat 1: Alan Monuds, Al Hejna, Kelly Schryock, Todd Scharkey, Brandon Kenney, Dean Mahlstadt, Joe Wernecke, Jay Poidinger, Jake Neal. Heat 2: Dan Bohr, Zach VanderBeek, Bob Timm, Tim Donlinger, Steve Wetzstein, Doug Hillson, Jeff Schluetter, Darwin Karau, Steve Stewart. Heat 3: Corey Dripps, Tom Paulson, Jay Ihrke, Mike Sorensen, Kevin Pittman, Joey Schaefer, Pat Graham, James Parker, Jason Schlangen. Heat 4: Ryan Gustin, Jason Hughes, Brad Waits, Mark Noble, Bryan Rowland, Derek Ramirez, Tommy Myer, Jay Noteboom.



Feature: Herrick, Nelson, Kronshroder, Saterdalen, Phelps, Morehart, Bartel, Dulas.

Heat 1: Dustin Nelson, Josh Bartel, Bobby Saterdalen, Nick Herrick, Kurt Kromshroder, Harland Morehart, Jesse Phelps, Brett Dulas.


Feature: Kenny Wytaske, Davis, Wheeler, Alberts, Albert Wytaske, Hernke, Horgdal, Jumbeck, Bushman, Sass, Struckmann, Vaith, Friese, Hainka, Toutges, Mondus, Sample, Schuelke, Johnson, Paulson, Swanson, Morehart, Barfknecht.

Heat 1: Joel Alberts, K.Wytaske, Tom Paulson, Kyle Jumbeck, Bobby Swanson, Justin Sass, Bryce Struckmann, Kurt Barfknecht. Heat 2: Dan Wheeler, Mike Hernke, A.Wytaske, Pete Bushman, Darryl Hainka, Curt Vaith, Tyrone Friese, John Schulke. Heat 3: Brandon Davis, Nick Johnson, Rick Toutges, Mike Sample, Mark Mondus, Harland Morehart, Joe Horgdal.


Feature: D.Holland, Bork, Schultz, Schumacher, Averbeck, Olson, Zvorak, B. Holland .


Heat 1: Dan Bork, Nate Schumacher, Scott Olson, AJ Zvorak, Dan Holland, Steve Schultz, Sam Averbeck, Brent Holland.


Feature: Craig Hanson, Ross Spitzer, Brandon Skalicky, Matt Miller, Billy Steinberg, Tyler Peterson, Billy Steinberg, Sammie Fromm, Jake Siemers, Jason Newkirk, James Weber.


Feature: Gary Stahl, Ryan Henderson, Jacob Snyder, Alex Houston, Gareth Johnson.

What To Read Next
Fundraising is underway to move the giant ball of twine from the Highland, Wisconsin, home of creator James Frank Kotera, who died last month at age 75, 44 years after starting the big ball.