Rochester players win state titles

Rochester players won three state championships at the recent Minnesota State Doubles Racquetball Tournament at the Hiway 100 Northwest Athletic Club in the Twin Cities.

Wendy Miller and Pam Benson won the Women's 40-over division, Cheryl Jones and Susan Schatz (Fergus Falls) won the Women's A, and Ryan Jacobs and Tony Buckley (Mankato) won the Junior A.

Other results:

Miller and George Selke took second in 30-over Mixed Division.

Kevin Kleist and Bob Horstmann were second in 20-over Men's B/C.


Jacobs and Sam Ryder (Woodbury) won the Men's Open consolation.

Kleist and Benson won the Mixed A consolation.

Other participants were Greg Leibfried, Tony Anderson, Dave Voigt, Jim Roth, Kevin Thovson, Chris Jerabek, Justin Knutson and Mary Ann Jacobs.

The next Rochester racquetball tournament is the 2005 City Doubles Championships scheduled for Dec. 9-10 at the Rochester Athletic Club.

What To Read Next
Fundraising is underway to move the giant ball of twine from the Highland, Wisconsin, home of creator James Frank Kotera, who died last month at age 75, 44 years after starting the big ball.