Rushford-Peterson team takes first at state Envirothon

STURGEON LAKE, Minn. -- A team of students from Rushford-Peterson High School took first place at the Minnesota State Envirothon held May 21 in Sturgeon Lake, and will compete in the Canon National Envirothon.

The National Envirothon is July 29-Aug. 4 at Hampshire College in Amherst, Mass.

This is the fourth year in a row that a Rushford-Peterson team has won the state competition.

Team members include: Tessa Hovland, Kristin Washburn, Eric Norton, Amber Feine and James Colbenson. Craig Colbenson is the team adviser.

Second place went to Lincoln High School from Thief River Falls and third place went to the School of Environmental Studies, Apple Valley.


Members of second place team were Jacki Mooney, Kay Steiger, Sara Sundby, Crissy Wegner and Sarah Willis.

Members of the third place team were Danielle Sunde, Tom Farrell, Angelo Caradori, Cole Flohr and Ross Nielsen.

The State Envirothon is the culminating event of regional Envirothons, which are organized by the state's soil and water conservation districts. The top three teams from regional Envirothons are invited to attend the state event.

What To Read Next
Caitlin and Jason Keck’s two-year term on the American Farm Bureau Federation committee begins next month.
The Minnesota Public Utilities Commission met on Jan. 5, 2023, to consider the application for Summit Carbon Solutions.
Qualified Minnesota farmers will receive dollar-for-dollar matching money to purchase farmland.
Wanda Patsche, new Farm Camp director, has farmed with her husband near I-90 in southern Minnesota since the 1970s and shares her passion for farming on her blog.