A major disaster declaration was made by President Trump Wednesday for the state of Minnesota, ordering federal assistance for areas affected by severe winter storms, straight-line winds and flooding.

According to the White House press release on the declaration, funding will be made available to fix or replace the facilities damaged or lost to severe weather. Funding will be dispersed to state, tribal, and eligible local governments and certain nonprofit organizations.

Federal funding will also be available nationwide on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures.

The White House noted that additional designations may be made in the future. Designations are requested by states and have to be warranted by results of damage assessments.

Disaster relief funding will be made available for following counties in Southeast Minnesota: Dodge, Faribault, Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodhue, Houston, Mower, Olmsted, Steele, Wabasha, Winona, and the Prairie Island Indian Community.

What's your reaction?