Sponsored By
An organization or individual has paid for the creation of this work but did not approve or review it.



Cedar River Watershed receives Izaak Walton League award

AUSTIN — The Cedar River Watershed has received the Ray Haik Watershed District Award from the Izaak Walton League Minnesota Division .

Justin Hanson, a resource specialist with the district, accepted the award on behalf of the district at the Austin chapter's Sept. 8 chapter meeting.

The district was nominated for applying for and receiving grant funds to aid in river and stream improvements, beginning flood control and wetland projects with local landowners, partnering with local groups to clean up the river and educating the public through the "Wetbugs" youth project and presentations during Waterways Month.

Ray Haik was a national Izaak Walton League president from Minnesota who authored legislation that established watershed districts.

What To Read Next
Get Local