Sponsored By
An organization or individual has paid for the creation of this work but did not approve or review it.



Flynn wins in largest Olmsted district

Olmsted County Board Chair Matt Flynn can add another four years to his long service record on the county’s governing body after winning reelection Tuesday.

Olmsted County Board Chair Matt Flynn can add another four years to his long service record on the county's governing body after winning reelection Tuesday.

Flynn brought in 71.7 percent of votes, totaling 4,264, in District 4, the largest and most geographically diverse county district. His opponent, Ken Monsen, received 27.8 percent of votes, for a total of 1,654.

Flynn, a farmer, has served on the Olmsted County Board of Commissioners since 1997. Monsen, a former IBM employee and auto mechanic, threw his hat into the race because of issues with government overreach and private property rights.

Flynn thanked the district's residents for turning out on Tuesday and said Monsen was a pleasant opponent.

"He was sincere in his statements, and I respect anybody with that philosophy," Flynn said.


Flynn said he's looking forward to continuing work on the Destination Medical Center. His ultimate goal, as always, is making sure the county is great, he said.

"I'm looking forward to the next four years. The next four years are very important for our county," Flynn said.

Monsen could not be reached for comment on Tuesday night.

Two other county board commissioners, Sheila Kiscaden in District 6 and Ken Brown in District 4, ran unopposed for reelection. Kiscaden brought in 5,158 votes, with 70 write-ins. Brown got 3,753 votes, with 43 write-ins.

Olmsted County election results



Council Member (elect 2): Dan Mesenburg, 730; Scott Johnson, 716; Bret Baumbach, 702; Steven Cook, 594; write-in, 12.



Mayor: No candidates filed

Council Member (elect 2): Jaime Putzier, 171; write-in 49.


Mayor: Tyrel Clark, 520; write-in, 26.

Council Member (elect 2): Kurt Holst, 429; Ranard (Ray) Schuchard, 416; write-in, 13.


Mayor: Kevin M. McDermott, 300; Paul Pendergrass, 168; write-in, 3.


Council Member (elect 2): Beau Hanenberger, 292; Patricia A. Shields, 292; write-in 13.

Council Member: Ryland Eichhorst, 280; Jayne E. Krause, 171; write-in, 1.


Council Member (elect 2): Craig Anderson, 1,341; Richard Lee Uptagrafft, 915; Maren Joyce Schroeder, 769; Daniel J. Ware, 418.

What To Read Next
Get Local