Sponsored By
An organization or individual has paid for the creation of this work but did not approve or review it.



Head of Minnesota GOP gets 2nd term leading party

BLOOMINGTON, Minn. — Minnesota Republicans re-elected state GOP chairman Tony Sutton to a second term Saturday.

Sutton took over in 2009 and led the party as it lost the governor's race last year, but gained majorities in both legislative chambers for the first time in 38 years.

"It is a great time to be a conservative, but there is still work to be done. I look forward to working alongside Minnesota conservatives in the coming months to maintain our victories in the state legislature, win more Congressional seats, oust Amy Klobuchar and help elect a Republican president," Sutton said in a statement.

Klobuchar, a Democrat, is up for re-election to the Senate next year.

Republicans also re-elected the party's deputy chairman, Michael Brodkorb, and secretary-treasurer David Sturrock.


"The Republican legislators that we worked so hard to elect last year are now working hard on behalf of Minnesotans to stop the tax and spend trend in its tracks," Brodkorb said. "We are already planning for 2012 and I look forward to working with our exceptional candidates."

GOP activists also picked two new Republican National Committee members — Hennepin County Commissioner Jeff Johnson and former state auditor Pat Anderson.

What To Read Next
Get Local