Sponsored By
An organization or individual has paid for the creation of this work but did not approve or review it.



Many schools cited under AYP

Following are schools in area districts cited this year for not showing Adequate Yearly Progress under the federal No Child Left Behind law. When the district as a whole is cited, that's noted:

Austin: District; Banfield, Neveln, Southgate and Sumner Elementary schools; Austin High, Ellis Middle, Austin Area Learning Center, Bank School.

Blooming Prairie: Secondary.

Byron: Middle school.

Caledonia: District, middle school.


Cannon Falls: District, secondary.

Chatfield: District, secondary, elementary.

Dover-Eyota: Middle school.

Fillmore Central: District, elementary, senior high.

Goodhue: District, secondary.

Grand Meadow: District.

Hayfield: District, Brownsdale elementary, Hayfield Elementary.

Houston: District, Summit Learning Program, Minnesota Center for Online Learning, Minnesota Virtual Academy, Houston Secondary.


Kasson-Mantorville: All schools made AYP..

Kenyon-Wanamingo: District, middle school.

Kingsland: District, senior high.

La Crescent: District, middle school, Bluff Country Learning Center.

Lake City: District, Bluff View Elementary, Lincoln Secondary.

Lanesboro: All schools made AYP.

LeRoy-Ostrander: District, secondary.

Lewiston-Altura: District, intermediate, secondary.


Lyle: All schools made AYP.

Mabel-Canton: District, secondary.

Pine Island: District, middle.

Plainview-Elgin-Millville: Grade 4-6 school, high school.

Red Wing: Tower View Opportunity Program, Red Wing Area Learning Center, ALC Day Program.

Rochester: District, Bamber Valley, Churchill, Elton Hills, Franklin, Gage, George W. Gibbs, Hoover, Jeferson, Longfellow, Riverside Central, Golden Hill, John Marshall, Mayo, Rochester Area Learning Center,  ESC Area Learning Center, John Adams Middle, Willow Creek Middle, Friedell Middle, Lifelong Learning Center.

Rushford-Peterson: District, senior high.

St. Charles: All schools made AYP.

Southland: District, middle school.

Spring Grove: District, elementary.

Triton: District, middle, elementary.

Stewartville: District, middle.

Wabasha Kellogg: District, secondary.

Winona: District, middle, senior high.

Zumbrota-Mazeppa: All schools made AYP.


What To Read Next
PrairieCare mental health experts share tips to recognize, avoid burnout.
Almost a decade after Mayo Clinic purchased it, the fate of the former Lourdes High School complex at 621 W. Center St./19 Sixth Ave. NW remains in limbo.
Ear infections occur often with colds or allergies and don't need antibiotics to clear. Many children grow out of semifrequent ear infections as they get older.
There is a pronounced need for more dental providers in Southeast Minnesota's rural towns, many of which don't even have a dental clinic. The challenge: getting graduates to go there.