Sponsored By
An organization or individual has paid for the creation of this work but did not approve or review it.



Two tie for first place in Voice of Democracy competition

VFW Post 1215 recently announced the local winners of the 2015 Voice of Democracy and Patriot's Pen scholarship programs.

Two students from Schaeffer Academy — Katherine Beech and Emily Harris — tied for first place. Their entries went on to the VFW District Competition where Beech's placed first in Southeast Minnesota and Harris' placed second.

Beech will go on to compete in the state competition.

Other winners include: Third place, Rebecca Orth, Schaeffer Academy; fourth place, Megan Greseth, Mayo High School; fifth place, Abigail Wilson, Schaeffer Academy; sixth place, Meagan Peterson, Century High School.

The Voice of Democracy competition began in 1947 and provides high school students with the opportunity to speak on freedom and democracy. Thirty-five students entered this year, delivering a three-to-five minute essay on a patriotic theme — this year's was "My Vision for America."


Seventy Rochester students participated in this year's Patriot's Pen competition, with the theme, "What Freedom Means to Me." The competition began in 1995 to give students in grade 6 through 8 an opportunity to craft a 300- to 400-word essay expressing their views on democracy.

Place winners included: First place, Sierra Pieper, John Adams Middle School; second place, Prescott Herzog, Kellogg Middle School; third place, Brady Boie, Schaeffer Academy; fourth place, Audrey Park, Schaeffer Academy; fifth place, Bethelehem Alene, John Adams Middle School; sixth place, Justin Homme, Schaeffer Academy.

Audrey Park's entry placed second in the Southeastern Minnesota District competition.

What To Read Next
Get Local