Mayo Clinic not part of GOP health care task force

The Republican Party of Minnesota announced this week it was establishing a health care task force charged with developing and recommending legislation aimed at improving access to affordable high quality health care. Notably absent is a representative from Mayo Clinic.

The clinic has established a Health Policy Center focused on the issue of reforming health care. In particular, the clinic has pushed for the need to reform the payment system to make sure that providers are paid based on quality — not quantity — of care.

John Tyler, of Boys and Tyler Financial Group, Inc., is chairing the Republican task force. Other members include party chairman Tony Sutton and Dr. Ken Heithoff. No Rochester area lawmakers are on the task force, although party spokeswoman Heather Rubash said any Republican legislator is welcome to attend a meeting. DFL Gov. Mark Dayton recently announced he had established the Minnesota Health Care Reform Task Force. Dr. Doug Wood, a professor at Mayo Clinic, is on the task force.

Below is a list of the individuals participating in the task force meetings.

Annette Meeks, President Minnesota Freedom foundation


Bob Geist, MD Retired Physician, Minnesota Physicians and Patient Association (MPPA)

Chris Schneeman, Owner Seven Hills Benefit Partners

Craig J. Westover, Communications Director MNGOP, MPPA

Sen. David Hann

Greg Dattilo, CEO Dattilo Consulting, Inc., and ClientServ, LLC

Rep. Jenifer Loon;

Joe Thomas, bswift

Lee Beecher, MD, President MPPA


Lorrie Fehling, Freedom Services Inc. Benefits Administration

Margaret LeClair, Margaret LeClair, Ph.D., President LeClair Insurance

Peter Nelson, Center for the American Experiment, MPPA

Ray Haugland, President and CEO Freedom Services Inc

Rep. Glenn Gruenhagen,

Senator Chris Gerlach,

Rep. Steve Gottwalt,

Tim Wilkin, Capitol Strategies Inc.


Tom Aslesen, Owner Accord Benefit Resources Inc.

Rep. Kathy Lohmer

What To Read Next
Get Local