Austin wrestlers finish regular season

The champions of the Big Nine Conference paid a visit to Berven Gym on Thursday night for the final wrestling dual meet of the regular season.

Albert Lea took care of business with a 57-9 win over the Austin Packers in the conference dual. This was 26th conference championship for the Tigers.

Erick Power at 119, Alex Amrich at 130, and Thomas Herrera at 215 pounds got the wins in the final home meet for the Packers. It was Senior Night, so a fitting end for Amrich and Herrera in their last matches at the Berven Gym.

The visiting Tigers had a total of five pins on the night. Albert Lea ends the regular season at 28-3 overall and an 8-0 record in Big Nine duals.

After the Tigers took an early 9-0 lead in the dual, the Packers got a win from Erick Power at 119 pounds. Power won by decision and the Packers were on the scoreboard.


It was a 12-3 deficit for the home team, when Amrich scored an exciting win 130 pounds. The match between Amrich and Spencer Carstens was scoreless after two periods.

Late in the third period, Amrich made his move for the win. He scored off a reverse and claimed a 2-0 decision. The Tigers then won the next seven matches.

Herrera got the last win of the regular season for the Packers. He's peaking at the right time heading into the section, and scored a close 3-2 decision.

Austin (2-12 duals) will be on the road for the first round of the Section 1AAA team tournament on Thursday night.


103 — Dakota Wangsness (AL) dec. Devon Felten 9-2. 112— Garrett Wangsness (AL) pinned Brennen Russell 3:39. 119— Erick Power (A) dec. Lucas Hansen 6-4. 125— Devin Nelson (AL) dec. Brandon Cotter 8-1. 130— Alex Amrich (A) dec. Spencer Carstens 2-0. 135— Tristan Westerlund (AL) pinned Thao Doan 1:02. 140— Peter Bergland (AL) dec. Logan Finnegan 4-2. 145— Caleb Kolodge (AL) pinned Michael Gaines 2:23. 152— Trey Hable (AL) won by forfeit. 160— Dylan Anderson (AL) pinned Mitch Tebay 5:03. 171— Dustin Samudio (AL) won by forfeit. 189— Conner Kortan (AL) pinned Joe Williamson 1:31. 215— Thomas Herrera (A) dec. Caleb Gaudian 3-2. Hwt— Alex Nielsen (AL) won by forfeit.

What To Read Next
Get Local