Balanced Spartans shut out Winona

Rochester Mayo bounced back from its first loss of the season and remained unbeaten in Big Nine Conference play with a 6-0 boys hockey victory against Winona on Tuesday at Graham Arena I.

Four players had multi-point games for the Spartans (2-0-0 Big Nine, 2-1-0 overall). Logan Haskins had two goals and an assist, Tommy Hanson had three assists, Justyn Sweet had a pair of goals and Jordan Korte had two assists.

Ethan Moore and Anthony Oliveto also scored for Mayo, which recorded its first shutout of the season in front of goalie Luke Utley (6 saves).

Mayo, which put 39 shots on goal, received goals from Haskins, Sweet and Oliveto to take a 3-0 lead after one period. It led 4-0 after two.

"It was good to see the lines clicking," Mayo assistant coach Todd Huyber said. "We had a lot of good puck movement and scoring chances and a lot of guys involved in the scoring."


Mayo returns to action on Thursday against rival Rochester John Marshall at 7:30 p.m. at the Rochester Recreation Center.

Mayo 6, Winona 0



Winona: Wyatt Hamernik 33 saves.

Mayo: Logan Haskins 2 goals, 1 assist; Tommy Hanson 3 assists; Justyn Sweet 2 goals; Jordan Korte 2 assists; Anthony Oliveto 1 goal; Ethan Moore 1 goal; Nick Newman 1 assist; Tommy Fjelsted 1 assist; Luke Utley 6 saves.

Dodge County holds on for tie

LeSUEUR — Dodge County lost a two-goal lead in the third period, but hung on for a 3-3 tie against LeSueur-Henderson/St. Peter on Tuesday.


Kevin Claussen, Brady Larson and Nic Leisen scored for the Wildcats (3-3-1), who took a 2-1 lead into the third period.

Leisen scored 5:37 into the third for a 3-1 lead, but Sam Wenner answered just nine seconds later for L-H/SP to make it 3-2. Wenner notched his second goal of the night, on a power play, at the 13:17 mark of the third to force overtime.

Mitch Sobotta made 30 saves for Dodge County, while Zeke Haugen made 18 stops for L-H/SP (4-1-1).

Dodge County plays host to Simley at 7 p.m. Friday.

Dodge County 3, L-H/SP 3, tie

Dodge County#1#1#1#0#—#3


Dodge County: Kevin Claussen 1 goal; Brady Larson 1 goal; Nic Leisen 1 goal; Sam Robinson 1 assist; Kylo Courteau 1 assist; Mitch Sobotta 30 saves.


LeSueur-Henderson/St. Peter: Alex Hoehn 1 goal, 1 assist; Sam Wenner 2 goals; Ryan Hoehn 1 assist; Jackson Keeley 1 assist; Zeke Haugen 18 saves.

What To Read Next
Get Local