Head coach: Clark Jones (13 seasons at Elmhurst College, second season at RCTC. Overall record of 283-283-2).
Last season: RCTC went 8-4 on a southern trip and then had the season cancelled upon its return due to COVID-19.
Top returners: Drew Simmons (RHP, T Palmer Mickelson (RHP), Ryan Roby (RHP/1B), Trenton Dahnert (CF).
Top newcomers: Gabe Sepulveda (3B), Shota Sawamura (2B), Cole Outlaw (SS), Cade Hinkle (C), Steven Shallcross (1B).
Newsletter signup for email alerts
Season outlook: The Yellowjackets should be very competitive and a contender for a division title in the Minnesota College Athletic Conference. A strong pitching staff — led by Stewartville's Drew Simmons and Century grad T Palmer Mickelson — should keep RCTC in most games. A key to the season could come down to the Yellowjackets' ability to score runs. Most of the players on the team are freshmen because those who did play last year were not charged with a year of eligibility. RCTC has several players on the squad from outside the continental United States.
Coach’s comments: "We have a fine group of young men," Clark Jones said. "Not having a fall seasons has been a challenge but our players have certainly worked hard and made the most of a difficult situation. I expect our team to be in the MCAC Southern Division Conference race with a chance to win our region. Century (College) and Riverland will be very strong teams to compete against and we look forward to the challenge."
Sophomores: Cole Outlaw (SS, Cypress, Texas), Ryan Roby (1B, RF, Farmington). Freshmen: Blake Schilling (SS, Lewiston-Altura), Jovan Marrero-Soto (SS, Trujillo Alto, Puerto Rico), Carlos Ramirez (P, Anaheim, Calif.), Christian Rivera (2B, Barrranquitos, Puerto Rico), Landon Stoppelmoor (INF, Fountain City, Wis.), Cade Hinkle (C, Pierre, S.D.), Shota Sawamura (SS/2B, Tokyo, Japan), Izaak Stevens (INF, Plainview-Elgin-Millville), Brady Nelson (P, Byron), Drew Yochim (OF, Rochester John Marshall), Trenton Dahnert (OF, Stewartville), Dominic Bargfrede (OF, Alpha), Nelson Franquiz (OF, Medellin, Antioquia), Jovanni Gonzalez (P, Maplewood), Drew Simmons (P, Stewartville), Devin Knudson (1B/P, Dodge Center), Steven Shallcross (OF/1B/C, Washington, Pa.), Lucas Anderson (2B/C, St. James), Grant Miskimins (P/1B, Omaha, Neb.), T Palmer Mickelson (P, Rochester Century), Paxton Gravlin (P, Truman), Gabe Sepulveda (SS/3B, Conroe, Texas), Alec Dietl (P, Foley).
— Guy N. Limbeck • glimbeck@postsbulletin.com