Eight inducted into wrestling HOF

We are part of The Trust Project.

The Mayo Civic Center Region I Wrestling Hall of Fame inducted eight members Monday night during the Southeastern Minnesota Wrestling Seniors Banquet at the downtown Marriott.

Three athletes were selected for this year's Hall of Fame class — Dave Cummings, Pete Veldman and Ronald Jacobsen.

Cummings is a graduate of LeRoy High School. He was the 1970 MSHSL one-class state champion. He went on to be an NCAA All-American at Mankato State and coached for 13 years at Worthington High School.

Veldman is an Albert Lea graduate. He won the 1951 state title at heavyweight and later placed third and fourth at the Big Ten tournament while wrestling for the Gophers. Veldman was the longtime coach at South St. Paul High School.

Jacobsen is an Owatonna graduate who was a four-time state place-winner. He graduated in 1957 and went on to win two NJCAA titles and was an Olympic team alternate in 1960. He went on to coach at the University of New Mexico.


Two coaches also made the HOF induction class, Bill Frame and Dave Frame.

Bill Frame has been involved with the Pine Island wrestling program for nearly 40 years. He wrestled for the Panthers in the 1970s and has been an assistant coach for the past 32 years.

Dave Frame has been an assistant coach at Albert Lea for the past 30 years. He also helped start the wrestling program at Bethany Lutheran College in Mankato. He is Bill Frame's uncle.

Longtime wrestling official Jerry Reker of Kasson-Mantorville and contributor Louie Ohly also were inducted into the 2014 class.

Reker has officiated at all levels for the past 29 years. He's officiated 18 state tournaments and the NCAA tournament. Reker has been selected as the top official several times. He's been an administrator for 31 years and is currently the principal at Kasson-Mantorville.

Ohly is a longtime Rochester attorney, who was considered the "heart and soul" of the Rochester Lourdes wrestling program. His son Jim was a state runner-up for Lourdes. Ohly contributed to the Lourdes athletics programs through 1987.

Finally, Gordon Paschka was selected as a "Pioneer Coach." The late Paschka was the head wrestling and football coach at Winona from 1952 to 1960. He played for the Gophers' 1941 and 1940 national championship teams and blocked (he played guard) for Faribault native Bruce Smith, who won the Heisman Trophy in 1941. Paschka played in the NFL with the Eagles and Giants and was drafted in the fourth round (28th overall).

What to read next
Lee has also thrilled collegiate audiences with her performance on Auburn’s gymnastics team. She hasn’t yet decided whether she’ll aim for the Olympics in 2024.
The Rochester Royals open the Class B state tournament against the Hamel Hawks on Saturday in Miesville. Defending state champion Chanhassen -- the team that eliminated the Royals a year ago -- looms in the second round.
The Rochester Grizzlies will hold their main tryout camp Friday through Sunday at the Rochester Recreation Center. The team will then take a week off before players report on Aug. 28 to begin preparing for the 2022-23 season, which begins Sept. 9 at St. Louis.
It was a tournament to remember for the former Kasson-Mantorville standout, who was still in high school just five months ago. Now, he is an international name across the sport.