Girls Tennis: Mayo captures another Big Nine crown

09-30 mayo boyer2 kk.jpg
Kylie Boyer of Mayo returns a volley in her match against Steffi Tetzloff of John Marshall Monday at the Outdoor Tennis Center.

Mayo ruled the Big Nine Conference Meet in girls tennis again on Monday as the Spartans captured the meet title for the 15th time in the past 16 years.

"Yes, it was nice," said Mayo coach Dave Edwards.

Mayo won five of the seven individual titles to score 69 points. Century was the runner-up with 52 points followed by Owatonna with 50.

Mayo won individual titles at all three double positions and at two singles spots.

Mayo junior Kylie Boyer won the championship at No. 1 singles while senior Laura Thomas took the crown at No. 4 singles.


Junior Kate Rosenow and senior Meryl Nath won the title at No. 1 doubles. Sisters Laura, a senior, and sophomore Elena Cattaneo took the No. 2 crown while junior Celine Ammash and sophomore Natali Sorajja won the championship at No. 3 doubles.

Century senior Madison Kircher won the title at No. 2 singles while Owatonna senior Anna Rahrick claimed the title at No. 3 singles.

• Section 1AA team play begins Tuesday. Mayo, the No. 1 South seed, will host Albert Lea, the No. 8 seed from the South.

Century, No. 2 in the South, hosts New Prague, No. 7 from the North. John Marshall, No. 5 from the South, plays at Lakeville South, No. 4 from the North. Austin, No. 6 in the South, is at Red Wing, No. 3 in the North.

The second round of section play is Thursday. The semifinals and finals are Oct. 8 at the Rochester Athletic Club.

What To Read Next
Get Local