Grand Meadow wins Nine-Man state title

it's a three-peat for Grand Meadow

MINNEAPOLIS — It's a three-peat for Grand Meadow.

The top-ranked Superlarks claimed their third straight Nine-Man state football championship with a 34-20 victory over No. 3 Underwood on Friday at TCF Bank Stadium.

Senior quarterback Michael Stejskal was 12-for-19 passing for 218 yards and three touchdowns and he also broke a 71-yardrun in the fourth quarter for an insurance TD. Stejskal finished with 119 yards rushing.

"I think this year we came in hungry and ready to prove ourselves from the first day of practice," Stejskal said.

Christophor Bain caught five passes for 118 yards and two touchdowns. Terrell Rieken hauled in a touchdown pass for Grand Meadow and Zach Myhre added a 10-yard TD run.


Grand Meadow (14-0) ended Underwood's season at state for the third straight year. Grand Meadow won in the quarterfinals last year and in the state title game in 2013.

Coy Thorson rushed for 148 yards and a touchdown for Underwood (13-1).

Grand Meadow, playing in its fourth straight title game, has now won 36 straight games.

What To Read Next
Get Local