SPRING VALLEY — Brandon Davis found himself in two familiar places on Saturday — Victory Lane and the top of the USRA Modifieds points standings at Deer Creek Speedway.

Davis, a multi-time track and national points champion, started sixth in a feature race loaded with some of the area’s best drivers. He passed all five cars in front of him – including Rochester’s Dustin Sorensen, who had won the past two features at Deer Creek and started third on Saturday – to pick up his first win of the season and extend his lead in the points standings.

Davis has finished in the top 10 in all four points races at the track this season and has 363 points, good for a 32-point lead over Jason Cummins, who finished fourth on Saturday. Zack Vanderbeek of New Sharon, Iowa, was the runner-up, followed by Sorensen in third, Cummins in fourth and Tony Schill in fifth.

Davis’ win was his second in as many nights, having won Friday at Chateau Speedway in Lansing.

Like Davis, Rochester’s Neil Eckhart picked up his first feature win of the season by passing four cars – including last week’s winner, Schatney Sanders – and holding off Eyota’s Jeff Brauer at the finish. Eckhart tightened up the points race, too. He currently sits in second place in the season standings, just three back of the leader, Brauer.

The two-hour drive from Oakdale to Deer Creek has paid off this season for Wissota Street Stock driver Dustin Doughty. He has raced in three of the four points races at the track and has won all three times. Doughty’s win Saturday may have been his most impressive of the year, coming from the eighth starting position in a 12-car field, to win. Braden Brauer of Eyota finished second, with Kory Adams third.

Ryan Goergen earned his first feature win of the season in the Wissota Midwest Modifieds division. Brandon Hare also earned his first win of the year, topping a 27-car field in the USRA B Modifieds feature.


A Main (top 10) – 1. Brandon Davis (Hayfield), 2. Zack Vanderbeek (New Sharon, Iowa), 3. Dustin Sorensen (Rochester), 4. Jason Cummins (New Richland), 5. Tony Schill (Oakdale), 6. Jacob Bleess (Chatfield), 7. Joel Alberts (Mantorville), 8. Josh Angst (Winona), 9. Jacob Dahle (Morristown), 10. Dustin Kruse (Brandon, S.D.)

Heat winners – Sorensen, Cummins.


A Main (top 10) – 1. Neil Eckhart (Rochester), 2. Jeff Brauer (Eyota), 3. Dan Nissalke (Winona), 4. Ryan Wiome (Center City), 5. Schatney Sanders (Lake City), 6. Dennis Dunbar (Winona), 7. Tucker Quinn (Ladysmith, Wis.), 8. Kevin Hager (Kellogg), 9. Brian Fetting (Fountain City, Wis.), 10. Casey Underdahl (Woodbury).

Heat winners – Nissalke, Sanders.


A Main (top 10) – 1. Dustin Doughty (Oakdale), 2. Braden Brauer (Eyota), 3. Kory Adams (Stacyville, Iowa), 4. Ryan Jacobsen (LeRoy), 5. Jason Newkirk (Austin), 6. Ken Adams (Stacyville, Iowa), 7. Cody Hyatt (Waseca), 8. Fred Prudoehl (Winona), 9. Kyle Sivesind (Stewartville), 10. Greg Lammers (Owatonna).

Heat winners – Newkirk, Ken Adams.


A Main (top 10) – 1. Ryan Goergen (Stacyville, Iowa), 2. Jason VandeKamp (Scandia), 3. Kylie Kath (Claremont), 4. Nick Koehler (Bloomer, Wis.), 5. Tianna Mithun (New Richland).

Heat winners – Mithun, Weiss.


A Main (top 10) – 1. Brandon Hare (Elma, Iowa), 2. Nick Wagner (Osage, Iowa), 3. Aaron Hoff (Mantorville), 4. Ryan Maitland (Waterloo, Iowa), 5. Kadden Kath (Owatonna).

Heat winners – Eric Thill, Kath, Chisholm, Noah Grinstead.


LANSING – Kylie Kath, of Claremont, won his second consecutive feature race at Chateau Speedway on Friday. He took the lead on the second lap of the Wissota Midwest Modifieds feature and was never seriously threatened after that.

Brandon Davis of Hayfield continued his domination of the USRA Modifieds division, winning his fifth consecutive feature race at Chateau.

Other feature winners Friday were Aaron Hoff from Mantorville (USRA B Modifieds): Kory Adams of Stacyville, Iowa (Wissota Street Stocks); Daniel Knish of Kilkenny (Hornets), Brady Krohnbeg of Walters (Pure Stocks); and Micheal Bryant of Mason City, Iowa (Outlaw Mini Mods).

What's your reaction?


Sports Reporter

Jason has been a Post Bulletin sports reporter and columnist since 2004 and covers high school football, volleyball, softball, golf, hockey, junior hockey and auto racing. He is a 1999 graduate of the University of North Dakota.