Packers gymnasts get ready for state

The trio of Austin Packers gymnasts headed to the Class A State Meet later this week received more honors when the Big Nine Conference team was selected.

Abby Bickler and Selena Hataye of the Packers were both chosen for the all-conference team. Carolyn Hackel was selected as an honorable mention after a standout season.

In addition to the Packers gymnasts being honored, one of their coaches also received accolades for her efforts during the conference season of dual meets.

Amy Hajek of Austin finished in a tie for the Big Nine Conference assistant coach of the year. Hajek was tied with Jeff Summerfield of Rochester Century, John Marshall, and Mayo for the honor. Tom Smith of Owatonna was the Big Nine head coach of the year.

There were a total of 11 girls who made it to the all-conference team. In addition, six all-conference honorable mention awards were given and they were based on points.


Bickler, Hataye, and Hackel will be competing in the Class A individual state tournament on Saturday at the University of Minnesota Sports Pavilion in Minneapolis.


Selena Hataye (Austin), Abby Bickler (Austin), Heather Smith (Owatonna), Courtney Klemme (Mankato West), Katie Tran (Rochester JM), Shelby Seifert (Mankato East), Sirena Brekke (Owatonna), Chelsea Borwege (Faribault), Kayla Wiltrout (Rochester Mayo), Kiana Leer (Owatonna), Kalley Schwab (Owatonna).


Carolyn Hackel (Austin), Megan Soland (JM),, Leah Butterbauth (Mayo), Andy Jacobs (Rochester Century), Erin Gresham (Winona), Aileen Flanagan (Winona).

What To Read Next
Get Local