PEM varsity, JV teams win state titles

On Saturday, the Plainview-Elgin-Millville varsity and JV cheer teams competed at the MCCA State cheerleading competition in the Roy Wilkins Auditorium at the Excel-Energy Center in St. Paul. From the singing of the national anthem, the program made its presence known.

The session began with the singing of the national anthem by varsity members Elizabeth Schmidt, and Holly Stamschror. P-E-M's JV competed in the middle school division; the varsity competed in the Division II large/super large division. A large base of P-E-M fans was on hand and also made its presence felt during the routines.

Thevarsity and JV team both took first place in their divisions to become state champions. Both teams won their divisions by more than 30 points.

The day was not over however for the varsity, the P-E-M girls basketball cheerleaders were awarded the 2010 RAH (Regional Academic Honors) for the SE Region with a combined team GPA of 3.84. Accepting the award were members of the girls basketball cheerleaders: Nikki Goergen, Jamie Kappauf, Liz Cowen, Erin Toogood, and Addie Stoltz.

Then the 2010 MCCA Honor Team of Excellence was announced; there was a total of 39 girls state-wide nominated. Three P-E-M seniors — Megan Norton, Emily Reidemann, and Katie Kappauf — were nominated and recognized for their leadership skills and academic excellence with a GPA of 3.6 or higher.


Megan Norton was one of five cheerleaders state-wide selected to receive a $1,000 scholarship. One of the others was Samantha Redman of Chatfield.

Other Team of Excellence honorees were Redman and

  Stefani Elliott of Chatfield and Andrea Haskin and Shelby Nielsen of



Varsity coach, Sharon Tice said, "The girls have worked very hard this year, their routine today was one of their best efforts this season."

She added, "We had to deal with some illnesses earlier in the season, then we had several injures to overcome, but the girls never gave up, they worked as a team and finished the season strong!"

The P-E-M JV team is coached by Lyndsay and Josh Busby, the varsity is coached by Sharon and Bill Tice.

What To Read Next
Get Local