First-time feature winners again the norm at Chateau Speedway

Racing results from Chateau Speedway on Friday night.

USRA B Mod Feature Winner Michael Johnson.jpg
Michael Johnson of Rose Creek picked up his second feature win of the year in the USRA B Mods at Chateau Speedway in Lansing on Friday, July 1, 2022.
Contributed photo
We are part of The Trust Project.

LANSING — New feature winners emerged once again in auto racing at Chateau Speedway on Friday night.

Two of the six classes at the track have had a different feature winner every week.

In the USRA A Mod’s, Ryan Wetzstein of West Concord claimed his first feature win of the season by .056 of a second over Jason Cummins of New Richland in the closest feature race of the evening.

Wetzstein also took over the points lead at Lansing with the win. Cummins did have one of the classes heat wins with the other going to Cole Anderson of Le Center.

In the Hornet class, it was a first-time visitor to the track this year, Mike Chadderdon, who saw victory lane in the feature. He worked from row three to the front on lap three and set sail for the win over Colin Wittenberg of Hastings.


Maison Poston of Red Wing and Brandon Blanchard of Chester, Iowa, scored the classes heat wins.

Pure Stocks saw Troy Maas of Faribault pick up his first feature win of the year. He became the fourth different feature winner in the class in six weeks of action. Maas started on the pole and stayed out front from start to finish ahead of PJ Duchene of Faribault and Devyn Deyo of Chatfield.

Deyo took one of the classes two heat wins with the other going to Joshua Bentzen of Owatonna.

Chad Schroeder of Belle Plaine became another first-time feature winner at Chateau this summer as he took the USRA Stock Car Main Event. Travis Shipman of Mason City, Iowa, who has three feature wins in the class this year, placed second.

Kevin Vogt of Rose Creek had the lone heat win in USRA Stock.

In WISSOTA Midwest Modified action, Jake Smith of St. Joseph scored his second feature win of the season. Smith caught a break when early race leader Kadden Kath of Ellendale spun out while leading. Smith took over the lead and went on to score a sweep as he also won his heat. Greg Pfeifer Jr. of Austin came placed second.

Kath did pick up a heat win on the night.

Michael Johnson of Rose Creek picked up his second feature win of the year in the USRA B Mods. Johnson started in row five and had worked his way up to third when a caution came out on lap eight. A big push on the restart saw him leap frog to the lead on lap nine and he stayed there the rest of the way.


Noah Grinstead of Austin held off Hunter Kennedy of St. Ansgar, Iowa for second.

Kennedy and Scott Demmer of Ellendale had wins in the two heat races for the class.

The Track will be taking next weekend off from its regular racing program, however there will be an Enduro at 5 p.m. on Saturday. The regular six classes of cars will be back in action on July 15 with the addition of the Mid-American Renegade Sprints. The non-wing traditional sprints will be making there second of three visits to the track this summer. First green flag set for 7:15 p.m.

Chateau Speedway results


A Feature 1 (15 Laps): 1. 2-Troy Maas, 2. PJ Duchene, 3.Devyn Deyo, 4. Andrew Eischens, 5. Danielle Maas, 6. Kyndra Guttormson, 7. Jack Paulson, 8. Dylan Nirk, 9. Jamie Tapp, 10. Brandon Wiedeman.

Heat 1 (6 Laps): 1. 46-Devyn Deyo. Heat 2 (6 Laps): 1. Joshua Bentzen.


A Feature 1 (18 Laps): 1. Michael Johnson, 2. Noah Grinstead[, 3. Hunter Kennedy, 4. Scott Demmer, 5. Kullen Kath, 6. Kevin Johnson, 7. Corbin Ludemann, 8. Matt Tighe, 9. Michael Meyer, 10. Jason Pugh.

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. Scott Demmer. Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. Hunter Kennedy.


A Feature 1 (20 Laps): 1. Ryan Wetzstein, 2. Jason Cummins, 3. AJ Zvorak, 4. Cole Anderson, 5. Doug Hillson, 6. Charlie Steinberg, 7. Dwaine Hanson, 8. Jacob Stark, 9. Thomas Rolfes, 10. Casey Schlichting.


Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. Cole Anderson. Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. Jason Cummins.


A Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. Mike Chadderdon, 2. Colin Wittenberg, 3. Shawn Poston,4. Brandon Blanchard, 5. Maison Poston, 6. Daniel Bjonfald, 7. Ryan Timm, 8. Tate Bauer, 9. Carter Kmett,10. Curtis Wilson.

Heat 1 (5 Laps): 1. Brandon Blanchard. Heat 2 (5 Laps): 1. Maison Poston.


A Feature 1 (18 Laps): 1. Jake Smith, 2. Greg Pfeifer Jr., 3. Kobie Kath, 4. Kylie Kath, 5. Ryan Goergen, 6. Charlie Zander, 7. Jeremy Misgen, 8. Jayme Hiller, 9. Luke Hainka, 10. Tony Bloom.

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. Kadden Kath. Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. Jake Smith.


A Feature 1 (15 Laps): 1. Chad Schroeder, 2. Travis Shipman, 3. Chris Adams, 4. Andrew Eischens, 5. Jason Newkirk, 6. Kevin Vogt, 7. Zach Elward, 8. Caden Neisius, 9. Dan Klingfus.

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. Kevin Vogt.

Our newsroom occasionally reports stories under a byline of "staff." Often, the "staff" byline is used when rewriting basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as a city press release about a road closure, and which require little or no reporting. At times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.
What to read next
Eric Larson is the choice as Lourdes hires him to replace Steve Strickland as its activities director/assistant principal. Larson wil continue as the school's head boys basketball coach.
Jamaal Gibson, a 2010 Austin High graduate, has been named the new boys basketball coach for the Packers, replacing Kris Fadness.
Rylee Nelson, an incoming senior at Zumbrota-Mazeppa, has accepted a volleyball scholarship offer from Seton Hall University, which plays in the Big East Conference and is located in New Jersey.
Rochester's Thomas Bruss, a relief pitcher, has signed a professional baseball contract to play with the New Jersey Jackals of the Frontier League.