Tschetter in the running for Mr. Basketball

Stewartville senior Will Tschetter is among the top 10 candidates for Mr. Basketball in Minnesota.

Stewartville's Will Tschetter (42), putting up a shot over Caledonia's Casey Schultz (2) during a game earlier this season, is among the final 10 candidates for this year's Mr. Basketball award in Minnesota. (Joe Ahlquist /

Stewartville senior Will Tschetter is a top 10 candidate for Mr. Basketball in Minnesota.

The award goes annually to the top senior in the state. The final five for the award will be announced on March 30 and the winner will be announced following the state tournament.

EMBEDED: Boys basketball Section 1 playoff schedules (updated)

Tschetter is a 6-foot-9 forward who will play his college basketball at Michigan, which is a No. 1 seed in this year's NCAA Tournament.

Tschetter led the state in scoring as a junior when he averaged more than 33 points per game. This year he is again among the state's leading scorers as he is averaging just more than 30 points per game.


Tschetter helped guide Stewartville to a 15-3 record during the regular season and a No. 2 seed in the Section 1AA tournament, which begins on Tuesday.

The other seniors still in the running for Mr. Basketball are Ryan Dufault and Andrew Morgan of Waseca, Lamar Grayson of Richfield, Chet Holmgren of Minnehaha Academy, Trey Longstreet of Delano, Francis Nwaokorie and Joshua Strong of Champlin Park, Noah Paulson of Duluth East and Henry Shannon of Eastview.

Related Topics: BASKETBALL
What To Read Next
The Rochester Grizzlies will hold their annual Pink Night, to raise funds for cancer research at Mayo Clinic, on Saturday.
The league would launch in summer 2024 and is polling interest in possible host cities.
The Tuesday, Jan. 31, game between Sioux Falls Lincoln and Watertown was forced to move after junior JT Rock broke the rim with a powerful two-handed dunk. Rock is committed to play at Iowa State.
Right-handed pitcher Brendan Knoll will play minor-league baseball with the independent Fargo-Moorhead RedHawks during the 2023 season.