UND snaps Gophers women's historic streak

MINNEAPOLIS — One of the most impressive streaks in college sports started on Feb. 17, 2012, when the Minnesota women's hockey team defeated North Dakota.

The Gophers won their next 61 games.

The streak, however, has been snapped, and at the hands of the team against which it started. North Dakota beat the Gophers 3-2 at Ridder Arena on Sunday, ending the Gophers' NCAA record streak at 62 victories.

No. 4-ranked North Dakota never trailed, scoring the game's first three goals. Kayla Gardner, Gracen Hirschy and Susanna Tapani all scored for UND (9-2-1) in the first 12 minutes, 39 seconds.

Minnesota (13-1-0) battled back on second-period power-play goals by Rachel Ramsey and Sarah Davis.


The Gophers outshot UND 34-24, including 13-8 in the third period, but goalie Shelby Amslie-Benzie made 32 saves for North Dakota.

Minnesota returns to action next Saturday and Sunday at Yale.


Shibrowski, Gophersshut out MSU, Mankato

MINNEAPOLIS — The University of Minnesota men's hockey team continues to live up to its No. 1 national ranking.

Seldom-used Gophers goalie Michael Shibrowski even got in on the act on Saturday. In his first start in 393 days, Shibrowski stopped 25 shots he faced to lift the Gophers to a 3-0 victory and a sweep of the two-game weekend series against Minnesota State, Mankato.

The shutout was the first of Shibrowski's career and it helped the Gophers earn their first home sweep of the season.

Jake Bischoff, Tom Serratore and Hudson Fasching all scored for Minnesota (8-1-1), which outshot the Mavericks 36-25.


Fasching and Sam Warning each had two assists for the Gophers.

Cole Huggins made 33 saves in the loss for MSU, Mankato (4-6-0).

The Gophers continue a six-game homestand this weekend with another non-conference series against an intrastate opponent, Minnesota-Duluth.


Gophers notch 8 titles

FARGO, N.D. — Minnesota captured eight of the 10 individual championships at the Bison Open on Saturday, three more than the Gophers earned a year ago.

The Gophers' eight champions are David Thorn (133), Christopher Dardanes (141), Nick Dardanes (149), Dylan Ness (157), Logan Storely (174), Brett Pfarr (184), Scott Schiller (197) and Tony Nelson (285).

Host North Dakota State won titles at 125 and 165 pounds. Gophers wrestlers finished second in those weight classes, Sam Brancale at 125 and Dan Zilverberg at 165.


Minnesota is set to compete in the Harold Nichols Open at Iowa State University next weekend.

What To Read Next
Get Local